Cat city


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
February 18th 2013
Published: February 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Now in Kuching (cat city), Sarawak, Borneo. I am excited to try a new cuisine, as Sarawak has its very own specialities.

Had a horrible flight over with lightening literally lighting up the skies beneath the plane. After an hour of circling, horrific turbulence and pan pipe music to distract us, we were finally permitted to land. When we left the flight, waiting for luggage, I saw quite a funny scene - a cat box on the conveyer belt, with meows bellowing all the way round, waiting for its owner to retrieve him/her. Poor thing. I have never seen anything like it before.

Still feeling weary from my mountain trip I was pleased to arrive at the Riverside Majestic, where I will be based for the next 11 nights. Apart from a small trip out to a longhouse to spend 3 days with locals, foraging for foods to eat and cook.

Tonight I started out at the Pullman hotel for a few Mai Tai's before sunset. Then off to a very popular eating joint called "Top Spot food court". With my food bible by my side I ordered black pepper crab and stir fried midin with belacan (jungle fern with a spicy shrimp paste). Nicest crab yet!

Following that I returned to the hotel for a glass of wine. I became embroiled in conversations with two of the managers and my new bar friend, Ivy. I happened to mention I wanted to try the local rice wine and I was immediately met with a bottle of Tuak (rice wine from Sarawak), which they chilled so I could take to my room. Together with some Kek Lapis (layered cake) it went down a treat.

I am now looking forward to a few days rest before exploring Kuching. My legs are still very painful and suffer even with the smallest of inclines. I actually dread seeing a step!

Onward and upward as they say. I'm sure in a few days my pains will have subsided.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

TuakTuak
Tuak

Local rice wine. Too nice!


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb