A massage from heaven


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
February 19th 2013
Published: February 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Kolo meeKolo meeKolo mee

Sarawak speciality
My second day in Sarawak and I am still conserving my energy for now.

This morning I started off at a restaurant called Chong Choon, where I had rather a hunger on. I sampled Kolo mee (Sarawak speciality of noodles, minced pork and stir fried pork), Roti Kahwin and a KOPI (very sweet coffee with condensed milk).

Following this I thought I would treat myself to a massage to sooth my aches and change my gait such that I no longer look like I'm walking with bilateral artificial limbs. Wow, what a massage. The lady was literally climbing on my back. Not sure what type of massage this was but it certainly helped! Not quite the traditional aromatherapy massage I'm used to.

After a short rest I stroll along the waterfront, stopping off for a quick drink at the recommended bistro called James Brooke. This is named after the first white Rajah of Sarawak - an explorer/adventurer who was known for expanding the British Empire, suppressing piracy in the region and fighting against slavery.

Enough of the history lesson!

This evening I headed out to the Premier 101 food court. Here I found my new found
Fort MagheritaFort MagheritaFort Magherita

Built in 1879 by James Brooke, serving as a police museum. Now a tourist attraction in Kuching
friend, honey roast chicken wings, together with BBQ stingray and sambal. With this I ordered 1 tiger beer, but ended up with three! I must have looked thirsty! All of which came to less than £7.

I could really get used to this!

I returned to the hotel to be greeted by Ivy, who had bought me a sweeter and considerably bigger bottle of Tuak, which she had already chilled ready for my arrival. Predictable? I like to think of it as more reliable.

I will treat it as a medicinal extra before bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement


BBQ stingray with sambal and limeBBQ stingray with sambal and lime
BBQ stingray with sambal and lime

Yes it is as delicious as it looks


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 4; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb