Kuala Lumpur to Pulau Pangkor


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Perak » Pulau Pangkor
January 17th 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Setting off on the roadSetting off on the roadSetting off on the road

Just to prove I didnt take a taxi!
After the hecticity (I just made that word up) of KL I wanted a few days of relaxation. So after running through the lonely planet bible I decided to head for the island of Pangkor.

It was a fairly straightforward 3 hr bus journey to Lumut, which is the departure point for the island. The boat journey only takes about 20 mins. The island has these shocking-pink mini buses which are the local form of transport and they all have set fares which is good because you know how taxi drivers can be. It cost about GBP1.20 to get to Teluk Nipah which is the area I was staying. I was put up in a hut with air con for about GBP7 a night with breakfast included. The hotel was run by a nice Malay family. As I arrived they told me about BBQ they were doing for dinner if I wanted which I quite fancied. Big mistake!! The food was awful. I was too polite to turn it away and then spent the first night feeling rotten. Lesson learned....

Next day I hired a bicycle and set off round the island on a photo mission. It took me about 2 & 1/2 hours to cycle round. There were some really nice beaches. At one point a monkey came walking accross the road but I couldn't get my camera out in time. I wondered why all the locals go around on bicyles and motor bikes with shirts & jackets on back to front. How silly they look, I thought. When I got back to the hut & realised I had cooked my arms in the sun I realised they do that for a very good reason! Silly boy... In the evening I gave the restaurant another chance and they cooked me up a fantastic whole steamed fish for around GBP2. They redeemed themselves (!)

I was liking the island so much I decided to stay for another night so I spent the whole next day chilling by the sea shore. I think I earned a day lazing by the sea (!). Slept like a baby in the night & planned to set off for Ipoh in the morning on route to the Cameron Highlands.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Pangkor TownPangkor Town
Pangkor Town

These men were building a boat in the water
View from Pasir BogakView from Pasir Bogak
View from Pasir Bogak

Nice view of one of the neighbouring islands...
New friendNew friend
New friend

They have the same bugs as back home but 10 times bigger!!! This is a millipede I think (didn't count the legs!)
LighthouseLighthouse
Lighthouse

Leaving the island


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb