Pulau Pangkor to Cameron Highlands


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Tanah Rata
January 19th 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Steep steps!Steep steps!Steep steps!

Up to the view point
This was to be a fairly long journey so I broke it up and stopped for a night halfway in a city called Ipoh. The book suggested it was worth a stop, but sadly it wasn't. The place is a large lattice of big dangerous roads and not much else. I saw one guy get knocked off his scooter by a lady driving one-handed while talking on a mobile phone. Amazed I didn't see more accidents. There are some interesting cave temples nearby, but I waited and waited for the bus which never seemed to arrive so I took a walk around the city in the afternoon. When the rain started I took cover in an all day bar where nice girls served me up beer and sweet & sour chicken while I waited for the rain to stop. Early night, Cameron Highlands in the morning..

I set off early for the bus station, which is annoyingly 5km south of the city. The bus was late & was filthy with no air-con. So it was quite an uncomfortable journey to the highlands. I found in the travel bible a guesthouse in Tanah Rata which was owned by a couple who
Brown waterBrown waterBrown water

No matter how thirsty, you wouldn't drink from that!
are also Reiki masters and offer free attuning sessions. So when I arrived in Tanah Rata I went to see if they had a room. They were having renovations done to the house but they took me in. I had an interesting chat with them about Reiki and they gave me some reading. Unfortunately they were so busy & my stay was so short I didnt get to do any Reiki in practice, but it is very interesting and something I'll give a go when I have some time.

I only did one short hike while I was there. It was a good one though, I found a wooden view point which gave an interesting view of the mountains and the town where I was staying. It's hard work hiking with the altitude so even after this one hike (which was only about 1 & 1/2 hours) I was pretty knacked. I booked myself on a half day tour the next day which covers the nearby tea plantations, strawberry fields and bee farm. The rain came in the evening (as it always does) so I chilled at the guesthouse in the evening playing with the owners 3 month old
Higher and higherHigher and higherHigher and higher

I thought the journey to the view point would never end!
puppy.

The next day was an early start on the half-day tour. The main reason was to see the tea plantations. It is quite amazing how decorative the tea bushes are on the hillside. I had booked a bus to Penang at 2:30, so the stay in Cameron Highlands was short but sweet. A nice place, I would recommend anyone visiting Malaysia to make the journey to the highlands...


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Dinner timeDinner time
Dinner time

The guest house owners dog enjoying a feast... on my thumb!
Rhino Beetle!Rhino Beetle!
Rhino Beetle!

Man this boy is big!
Pleased to see me?!Pleased to see me?!
Pleased to see me?!

So grateful for the glass imbetween us!


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb