Europe Again vs Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Akasaka
April 4th 2024
Published: March 28th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Savoteur: There is culture shock, and then there is culture shock. Many travelers confess that adventures in European countries don’t scratch their itch of wanting to feel truly in a different world. Luckily, Tokyo, Japan, fits that bill quite nicely. From the neon lights to the history to the bizarre examples of modern technology, a trip to Tokyo is genuinely one-of-a-kind, making it a no-brainer place to visit for two weeks.


Yes, I agree with Saboteur, Europe is too much like the US. After all, our country is a reflection of Europe, at least in its origin and founders. Japan, and countries in the Asian corner of the world present a very different culture, cuisine, and people.


And I just realized most of the travel websites are quite Euro-centric. Just a guess on my part, but the ratio of Europe vs Asia articles number about ten to one!!!


So, in that perspective, I am headed to Japan, my mother country. And I will visit the city of my grandparents, Nagoya, now the home of Toyota and Noritake. An added bonus is that my best travel buddy, Mr. Mike is joining me. This is his first trip to Japan.


I am hopeful of introducing him to some food and culture that he finds both fun and interesting. Certainly, his city walks will be much safer, since he is an inveterate street walker. I just hope he does not laugh too much at my limited Japanese language skills, my constant bowing, and the afternoon depaato discounts.


Why have I gone to Europe so many times? Why have I gone to Asia so many times?


I don't have a good answer. How about, because "it is there?"


Much of my love for Europe originated with my first girlfriend. She spent a year studying at the Sorbonne, spoke French, and introduced me to French food. Some of my friends in college introduced me to classical music, fine wine and European cuisine. Or maybe it was the cute European girls and the topless beaches?


Sometimes, a country just calls to me, such as Turkey, Serbia, or Croatia.


Another reason to visit some countries is having friends. Since I was adopted by my Greek "brothers", I have been to Greece four times. But I have dear friends in other places, too. These include the UK, South Africa, Thailand, Malaysia, Cambodia, Peru, Nepal, Portugal, and another who travels the world, 365 days a year!


I am looking forward to seeing our friend Itsuyo, who lived near us in the Bay Area for many years. How ironic that she is visiting Clovis on Easter weekend, before we head to Japan next week?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb