Six Rules for Drinking in a Japanese Bar


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Ueno
April 5th 2024
Published: March 29th 2024
Edit Blog Post

You would think drinking in a bar in Japan would be roughly similar to drinking in any bar around the world. Not so, according to the experts, of which I am not. But I saw this list and discussion and decided to investigate further. Thanks to CNN Travel and Nick Coldicott for these insights.


Here they are:
Don't talk to other guests. In my case, it would be rather difficult, since my knowledge of Japanese is limited to thank you (arigato), and good-bye (sayonara).



2. Acknowledge the bartender. He is your friend. At the very least, say hello. Otherwise, you will be shuffled to a far off corner.

3. Sit where you are told. Pick your seat wisely. Much like selecting the correct urinal in the water closet, likewise must you pick the correct seat at the bar. Newcomers just do not sit directly in front of the bartender's station.

4. Discuss your order, if it comes from an old bar book from the last century. Make sure you know your drink options ahead of time. Do not play stump the bartender, or you will wear out your tenuous welcome!

5. No cigars! Is this not obvious? Nobody will be impressed. And you run the risk of ruining someone's evening, as well as the bartender's.

6. Don't get drunk! Rather obvious again. These are some of the greatest bartenders in the world, especially in the Ginza. It seems to me, these rules apply most everywhere in the world.

The only time I take the primo seat in a bar, is when it is empty. I think the bartender would appreciate not having to walk to the far corner to get my order, walk back to the draft beer taps, then walk all the way back to my seat. I also like the idea of engaging the bartender in some banter if he or she is not too busy.

Please follow the MADD rule. What is it? Maximum Allowable Drink Distance, when choosing your seat. Another issue of course is that many people in this country still smoke cigarettes. Yuck! We have been spoiled.

Since I am not a sake connoisseur, my alcohol intake will be limited to beer, wine, sparkling, and maybe a bit of Japanese whiskey.

Previous visit to Japan were rather limited with bar visits. But with Mr. Mike leading the way, we could become real bar flies! I doubt it.



Gerry


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb