Imperial Palace Tour in the red hot sun


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto
June 17th 2015
Published: June 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Well we had an early start today to get to the Imperial Palace for the tour we booked yesterday.

Now what can I say about the tour it was ok but to be honest nothing to write home about. We just toured the outside of the palace and did not take one step inside which was a bit of a shame to be honest. The sun was beating down on us and it was not much fun to be honest - good thing I brought an umbrella which keeps the sun and rain off you, as I really needed it.

the only great bit was I could see one painting inside but I had to stand on one leg and balance over a rope which I am sure would have had electricity going through it as there were so many guards around.

We then went for lunch in this nice little place and Mike had his lunch time beer.

So off we pop to the Silver Temple or more formally known as Ginkakuji Temple.

I am really looking forward to this as yesterdays Golden Temple was amazing. Well it looks like it might be a day of disappointments, although it was beautiful it was not a patch on the Golden Temple. The gardens were amazing again though.

These Japanese really know about peaceful gardens - they all have water and most have running water as well.

So down the philosopher's path we go again, maybe I will be enlightened this time - this time I stop to do some pottery - yes you read it right. You could throw a cup or bowl. I decided to throw a cup.

The instructor got the clay dead centre on the potters wheel and then he instructed me on how to get the bit of clay into a cup. Please note he did ask me if I had used a potters wheel before as I was so good at it - see it most things come so easily to me - me thinks could this philosophers thingy getting to me. Looking forward to seeing my work of art arriving into England in around 4 weeks time.

Next stop was Zenrin-Ji Temple which again was amazing and the garden was stunning - I must admit I think I am getting templed out and do not think
The cup I threwThe cup I threwThe cup I threw

Be with me in 4/52s time you will all be jealous I know. I will take orders!!
we are going to go to any tomorrow - not sure what we are going to do yet. I think we are going to go to Gion this evening to find a nice eating place and hopefully see some Geisha's.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.345s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.134s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb