Hungry deer, a mountain to climb, a dipstick and bizarre weather in Hiroshima


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima » Miyajima
September 23rd 2016
Published: September 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Hungry deer, a mountain to climb, a dipstick and bizarre weather in Hiroshima



Let's start with the weather. I'm half way down the stairs of the hostel and I think 'hang on I've forgotten my raincoat.' No-one in their right mind is going to go out in Japan without a raincoat. I have my umbrella of course. But no raincoat as well would be madness.



And then, in what must be the first time ever in Japan....it hasn't rained!! All day!! I've used my brolly though to keep the sun off because of course I didn't bring a hat or sun cream with me. It's been really hot so it was nice to get some shaved ice late in the day. I haven't had that for a while and some effort and half a block of ice went into making it but well worth it. For me anyway.



Today we decided to take in a bit of rural Japan and had a trip to the island of Miyajima. First we took the tram to Hiroshima station and then a train journey that seemed to last forever to a port with a really long name. Maybe it was because we were standing the whole way but it seemed to take forever to get to our destination. At least the train was covered by our rail pass.



As was the ferry! This pass really is worth it folks but don't forget to buy it before you come as you can't buy it once you're here. The ferry journey was quite short and we stood up again all the way.



The first thing greeting us on the island were some friendly deer. The signs advise not to feed them but I had to have long conversations with some of them trying to explain this to them. I'm not sure they understood.



Claire saw her first pet cat in Japan but it was being pushed along in a pushchair....obviously! The poor thing had been forced to sit with three dogs as well so it was a bizarre sight to say the least. Which was followed up by seeing deer on a beach-again, not something you see every day.



The island is famous for its floating (?!) inari gate (the great torii) so we headed there first. Of course they'd put up scaffolding to welcome us....these places must know we're coming! The 'floating' gate is quite impressive with its bright orange colour but I kinda expected it to be bigger. Next Claire saw some stairs so of course we had to climb them. At the top was some old wooden room/temple alongside a five storey orange pagoda; both of which were very impressive.



Not happy with the steps we decided to go to the top of the mountain and they'd even put in a cable car for us, or ropeway as they called it. It was still a bit of a walk to the station: 10 mins (or 8 if you run a little) as the sign said.



Therre were actually two cable cars and we changed more than half way up the hill to a more funicular carriage. Now, if you're going to go to the trouble of putting in not one but TWO rides up a mountain, why do I still have a 30 minute walk to get to the summit?? Put a bit of effort in and save me the trouble eh!



The walk to the top started with a downhill walk as well so there had been no forward planning when the mountain was formed either. If you reckon your god did it, have a word eh.



It was very hot and we eventually reached not the summit. You hoped it was the summit but it wasn't. They'd just stuck some buildings there to trick you. You still have a way to go and some 'duck under' rocks to negotiate. Claire was far from happy with these rocks as, being short, there was no ducking under for her. One of the two path options to reach the summit went downhill. This was turning into a nightmare.



We took the other one and reached the observatory which afforded wonderful views over local islands and all the way to Hiroshima. Claire was happy because she'd finally made me go uphill and of course we had no food and hadn't had much to eat. Oh, I'd had a sealed curry bun with two oysters inside which was fabulous: Claire was managing on just a few crisps for breakfast. She asked me whether I was hungry and ready for lunch. I pointed out that it was 14:45 and lunch had gone for a burton.



We walked up and downhill back down to the terminal and took the ropeways down to the bottom. There was still quite a walk to any proper food so we both had an ice cream from a vending machine. The vending machines here are fabulous. They're everywhere, have only failed to work once and actually give you the drink/item you want. Most of them are drinks machines and they're pretty much on every street corner and aren't vandalised-couldn't have that back home!



There is a shrine at the bottom which is built on stilts called Itsukushima and it's the usual striking orange colour and a pleasant place to visit-again, not expensive either. And an added bonus is you can keep your shoes on, hooray!



We weren't sure what time the last ferry was and everywhere seemed to be closing on the island so we headed back to the mainland....after the shaved ice I may have mentioned earlier....



Just the other side of the mainland we decided to eat before catching the train and found somewhere that appeared to have an English menu. I knew they did deep fried oysters so I was sorted, the problem was making sure Claire could have something vegetarian. I read that the word to use is bejitarian but people have just been looking at me like I'm a Tory MP when I say that.



Luckily Claire thought to use her translator app and managed to get vegetable tempura with rice. My oysters were excellent and came with rice, soup and pickles and I also managed to order some tea. We were pretty impressed with ourselves particularly as the food was so good.



The train journey back didn't seem half as long probably because we got to sit down and write some of our blogs. And then we needed to change some money...



I appreciate that it was a bit late and banks and things were closed but hotels and department stores are rumoured to change money. Not in Hiroshima it seems. To cut a long story short we did a lot of walking, got annoyed at one hotel when they wouldn't change money because we weren't guests but eventually found a hotel that had a machine that automatically changed the money for you. The rate was crap but the machine was ingenious and we were just happy to find somewhere to change money.



Because we have an early start tomorrow....and the banks probably won't be open by then....



I've just read Claire's blog and it reminded me I do actually have a dipstick of the day. I'm not sure where this rates alongside a peckerhead but this was bloody stupid. Incidentally I saw yesterday's peckerhead again today and thousands of Japanese people were elbowing him as he walked along to teach him some manners. Excellent.



So yeah, we see a deer and a dipstick tourist girl is ripping up paper brochures and feeding them to it. There are probably worse words I could use than dipstick but I probably shouldn't. Beyond belief stupidity. I don't know where she was from but she should go back and stay there. In the dark. Alone. Forever.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb