Feb 19 ++


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
February 19th 2009
Published: February 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Feb 19
I wasn't sure what i was going to do the next few days. I had originally hoped to go to a small island near Bali for a day tour or something or maybe surf one or two more days. However my feet were hurting so bad i decided i would just rest and save some money. So i spent most of the am catching up on 20+ emails form last week. After spending a few hours on the internet i decided to get something to eat but was running low on money. Then it dawned on me if i wait to sell my board and spear gun until the last day i will have alot of Rupia left over. That i would have exchange and not get a great price for it. So rather than me taking out more money i decided to sell my board and gun today.
The first few shops i went to weren't buying boards especially a 6'0". Everyone was offering me like 30 bucks for the board and i was giving them the bag i had and fins there was no way i was doing that. So i finally got to a shop were i got the guy up to about $100 which wasn't bad the board must have been at least 5 years old and was pretty beat up. I should have gotten some more but what ever i was just happy to get ride of it and not have to travel with it any more.
Next up was the Spear gun and fin set. Every ten feet i walked guys were asking about it what it was or if they'd buy it. However when i told them the price their mouths dropped the locals here are very poor, most wanted to buy it but were only offering me 10 bucks or so which again was unacceptable. So i headed to a drive shop i had noticed a few times on my drive to Nusa Dua thinking they would buy my gear and rent it or be able to sell it used. However they weren't interested. So i started thinking 10 bucks doesn't look to bad at least its something. I started walking back towards the beach and had been looking for an Indo flag for myself and one for Sean. I kept having guys tell me they would go get me one and be right back or that i could go with them its close by. It seemed a lil weird/sketch so i never accepted the offer. Then one guy said he has one so i followed him down this little shop alley but they said the same thing they would have to go get me one. However i drew great attention due to the spear gun i was holding. So I sat down with the guys for a while. At one point i must have had 15 guys around me trying on all the gear fins mask snorkel. It was pretty interesting mean while a guy appeared with a flag miraculously. They wanted way to much for it so i began gathering my things to leave and started out when the guy made me an offer that was only 1 buck more than i wanted and i said ok. But i needed two so they said they would go get me one and would be right back and to wait. So i went in to one store with the guy that wanted to buy my gear. He offered me about 30 bucks not bad but i wanted some more. I tried striking a deal 35 and then 6 shirts i could has as presents and that would add up to another 10 bucks or so he counter offered 30 plus the six shirts and was persistent the entire time the other guy was gone. He kept saying it over and over and i kept saying no no no it was silly/crazy. Finally the other guy returned but with no flag he didn't know where the "factory" was so he had to get directions at this point i decided to leave and told them id come tomorrow and if i didn't sell the guy i would sell it to him.
I decided to walk the beach and try and sell it but again realized that mostly everyone is poor here and that offer the guy gave me probably would be the best. However i passed an Ozzy who said "wheres the fish at?" to i replied"i ate them all im just trying to sell it" We bartered a bit but in the end i got about $60 for the gun and fin set so i was pretty stoked.
On my walk home i decided to spend some of my newly acquired money and got some presents for my friends and family. Then had dinner and went to bed.

Feb 20 Friday
Today i rang home and talked to mom and dad. Then wasn't sure what to do with the rest of the day so i walked to the Discovery Mall a massive mall on the other side of town. It wasn't a great idea because my feet were still throbbing but i didn't know what else to do. I walked around the mall a bit and chilled on their food court porch over looking the ocean. It was very beautiful. The mall didn't have a pretzel shop that i was hopping for but it did have a Rotiboy shop which was almost as good. It was bread buns with butter inside they were sick.
After the mall i went up to the beach and chilled for a while and read a bit about China and found out that Hong Kong is going to be super expensive. I had remembered my friend in Taiwan recommend i joining the Couch Surfing Website. Where you email people that live in the are you are going to and they give you a couch or sometimes a bed to crash on for a few nights. So i spent the rest of the day on the site setting up an account and emailing a few people. I had heard about it years ago but for some reason never did it but i think im going to use it for Taiwan Hong Kong and maybe Beijing depending on how it goes. Seems really cool like ebay where people leave comments about the host and guests and there are ratings and things, it seems really legit and cool idea. and a great way to save some coin. You could probably couch surf the rest of you life and never have to pay rent just food.
After i registered on the site i had another Balinese massage then had dinner and went off to bed.

Feb 21 Saturday
Today was another chill internet full day. I did however manage to find a post office and mail things home. Sea mail so i might actually make it home before it does but oh well it took about 12 lbs off my back. Just hope it makes it home.

Feb 22 Sunday
The morning and half the afternoon were just net filled and chillin on the beach in my hammock. But at 3 pm i got picked up by Aj Hackett Bungy jump and was on my way to rack up 4 more jumps. My first 2 jumps were flips. First was a gainer and second was a front. Next one was interesting. I got to ride a BMX bike off the platform. It was sick. I bought the footage to prove it. You ride off and do a flip it was awesome i love bungy jumping it so sick. Then the last jump was with a motor scooter. That was freaking crazy too. Only in Bali Indonesia can you ride a bike off a 60meter platform strapped to a bungy cord. Haha i wish the "runway" was longer to build up speed but never the less it was sick as hell. And i survived an added bonus. After all that adrenaline kick i need to chill out so i had my dinner picked up my laundry watched a movie then went off to bed.

Feb 23
Im just catching up on my blog and killing some time before i hit the airport headed for Singapore.
I added a few pics all taken with my iphone thanks Sean. but this site wont let me post many so im sorry i wont be posting many till i get home.
Ps again i apologize for my grammar haha. guess mom even had a hard time reading the last one.(imagine what my personal journal looks like haha) i tend to ramble to much i suppose. but maybe that's just the mind set you have to get into reading this. you know, you cannt be reading this like your reading a real journalist or writer, your just basically in my head.

Advertisement



23rd February 2009

these are great
I love that "surviving" is an added bonus for you. you're crazy terry
26th February 2009

hey thanks ken. Yea Sumbawa i dont think its as bad as i may have made it seem but it did have its moments haha. No there is no surf in Singapore where jay lives. There might be some in here in Nam apparently, ill have to rent a board but i dont think it will be anything mega to write home about. but a fun beach break would be cool. Thats sick kings are playing down there unfortunatly i dont get home till may 1 big bummer miss by a day or so. as pumped as i am for the rest of my trip im really stoked to visit you guys with mom and dad when i get back

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb