Feb 12++


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumbawa » Bima
February 12th 2009
Published: February 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Feb 12
So I got up early this morning to finish getting ready for my trip out to Sumbawa, Still spewing about the price. I almost canceled in the middle of the night but would have lost 50% so i decided to go through with it. So anyway i got to the airport and had to pay a board bag fee the only one i have had to pay this entire trip amazing, i didnt think id have one here at all, it was around 10 bucks, then i had to pay an airport tax another 3 bucks small money just a pain. I started feeling home sick or at least thats what i thought but i figured out later it was more just money sick i hate wasting money and being had so to speak.

As i was waiting for the plane Ryan and Rachel showed up weird surprise i said hello and sat by them but didn't speak much. Slight tension i think at least i felt some. I asked if Katie had gone to Sumatra they said no she was running around the airport haha sweet even more awkward i hope they fell like asses. The Flight was only 50 mins and a small empty plane then we had a 2 hr drive to Lakey Peak. I had a drive there waiting for me at the airport i felt like a tool at least there were 2 other guys with me haha. If you cannt tell i hate having things done for me especially if they cost alot of money when i could have done that all myself. Any way when we got to the hotel i tried splitting the room with one of the guys to save some cash I even said id sleep on the floor and give him the bed but they wouldn't let us. So i was pretty up set the rest of the day especially because there was no surf. So i went to one of the local restaurants to eat and chill a bit, another thing i wasn't happy about there weren't any super cheap places to eat. The surf started to look ok so i decided to head out for a lil surf. They were fun little waves and it was nice to be in the water. I didny have my malaria medicine with me so i didnt want to be out after sunset so after the surf i just headed in watched a movie and hit the sack.

Feb 13th
I woke up around 6ish checked the surf but the tide was super low must be a300 meter difference or close to it. So i chilled out and had breaky and waited for the high tide push. I went in around 10 and had some fun small waves again but the wind started to pick up side shore and the tide started to go to full and it was mushy so i headed in. I spent a few hours chillin in in my sweet parachute hammock reading about nam then i decided to walk around and try and find one of the other breaks.
During this walk i came across 3 fisherman/boys they seemed pretty nice but then one said "You should be careful out here I may steal you" I replied "why? " He said "you are worth money" then he muttered something about a brother from another mother. I didnt think he meant he would steal me but there are people around that would. Needless to say when we got to a curve in the beach i told them i was gonna go back. The tried to get me to come fishing with them but i declined we shook hands and parted ways. I waked back about half way and then i thought i saw them coming of in the distance so i ran all the way back. I kept thinking they or their friends were going to pop out of the brush on motor bikes with guns or knives. Little sketch.
I checked the surf when i got back it was ok but not great so i decided to try spearfishing. The water was lil milky but i saw some pretty big fish but again that lil gun was crap so i couldn't get anything. I did try a lil different tactic which almost worked. I swam all the way to the bottom and then would just sit there and see if they would get use to me and swim near me rather than me swimming after them. It seemed like it was going to work but then all of a sudden every fish near me darted away. It was really eerie i thought there was a shark around or something. All of the fish darted at the exactly same time so it made a pooping sound under water it was really crazy. Thankfully i didn't see any sharks around i must have startled them some how.
When i got out of the water that Fisherboy was standing out side my hotel talking to another boy about fishing some where else and that i should go with them tomorrow i said "maybe but the surf might be good"
I went in took a shower and then went out for dinner. On my walk home the power went out all over so i had to baby step all the way home in the dark.

Feb 14 Friday
Today I woke up again at 6 checked the surf again the tide was to low so i hung out a bit and waited till 8 to head out. The surf was alright mushy lines but again nice to get in the water.
That afternoon the surf looked like it was getting a bit bigger but was windy and not working well so i just hung out and caught up in my journal the rest of the day. I did another surf around sunset defiantly a little bigger and and fun surf session and beautiful sun set.

Feb 15 Saturday
Surf had definitely picked up so i headed out early. It was a slopey wave but tons of speed and fun. I got some really nice rides. After surfing i just chilled in my hammock because i was a lil sick, just trying to rest and get over it. I went out for another sunset surf which was pretty good it was definitely getting bigger.
I went to Fatmahs restaurant for dinner which took forever i ordered then watched all of Jack Ass 2.5 on the TV they had and my food still wasn't ready it was ridiculous.

That night i began to freak about about malaria because all of the other surfers there were on malaria tablets and i was sick and started having night mares about it. Thank god i texted dad and he calmed me down a bit and said i was most likely just sick i didnt have the right signs.

Feb 16 Monday
The surf finally was cranking probably double over head on sets and fast steep waves with big barrels. It was sick. I got some awesome rides and then i also got some awesome cuts on my feet from the reef. I had be slowly acquiring more mostly due to duck diving and then getting smashed all around by big set waves and smashed into the reef. So i stayed out a little longer then headed in for breaky. i came in at a good time because the windy had come up pretty bad side shore and just about everyone got out. After breaky i rested a bit then decided to try and surf periscopes its generally a little smaller down there and get less wind because of the location. I decided to hire one of the local boys to drive me half way down. It cost about $1 and he would wait there for me to come back. So i saddled up on the back of his scooter and headed down this dirt mt bike like path. We got the the river where he couldnt take me any more and id have to walk the rest which turned out to be a 15-20 min walk. If i had walked the whole way would have taken 45mins or 1hr. Any way the wave was a beautiful right hander. The tide high so alot of people were getting out. It was awesome myself and one other English guy were sitting pretty deep and getting the best waves. Everyone else was sitting on the inside shoulder. I defiantly had the best barrel of my life there it was amazing being deep inside and then getting shot out it was awesome. i think im an ok surfer but always have problems with barrels this was so effortless it was so sick.
That night i had dinner at the one local stand and i got complimented by some guy that said he was on the beach watching. I think he thought i was the other British guy because he was surfing really well but hey ill take the compliment. After a good Nasi Goreign dinner i headed back to bed.

Feb 17 Tuesday
The surf had dropped off a bit but it was still really fun good waves. After my surf session i headed in for breaky and have a break. Then the water looked looked pretty clear so i headed out for a spear fish but the water turned out to be a bit murky. The sweep was super strong as well it was impossible to track/hunt fish so i headed in and had lunch. The wind had really came up so the surf wasn't looking good at the peak so i headed down to periscopes again. The tide was high again and was a little windy there as well but got some ok rides. I just wanted to get in one more time before i leave tomorrow. Oh a good side note on the walk down from where my scooter driver dropped me to the surf i was hopping on some stones and i hopped on this one stone that turned out to be a massive steaming pile. It was hilarious must have been a cow or horse or something. Jay and i have "played" rock or crock in Costa when crossing rivers possibly filled with crocodiles but this was rock or crap. haha
After surf i had just headed back had dinner packed up and went to bed.

Feb 18th
I woke up finish packing and had breaky i was ready at 7:30 along with my driver however we were bring another couple that weren't ready till lil after 8. On the drive to the airport we had noticed a plane land and the driver said wow thats early so he called a few people and found out our flight was an hour early. So he proceed to drive much faster passing bikes, trucks and horse and carriages with on coming traffic honking the horn the whole time. it was pretty intense. So we made it to the airport and we get our things scanned the second you step in the airport and the guy had stopped me and wanted to see my board bag i guess the spear gun or the knives. It was so hectic he was screaming at someone to check it and i kept saying i have to go and finally let me leave. I get my ticket and had to pay a board fee again but this time they didn't weigh it so i claimed it was lighter and paid maybe 8 bucks. then ran to the gate and got on board.
The cuts on my feet were killing me on the plane so when i ot back to Bali i walked to a pharmacy and got some Chinese medicine to put on them. Then i used the net the rest of the day and ate 3 or 4 more meals since they only cost 2 bucks here.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0931s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb