Feb 23 Singapore ++


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Holland Village
February 25th 2009
Published: February 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Feb 23 Singapore
So my plane was about an hour late or so but i eventually made it to Singapore. I managed to take the subway to a stop near Jay K's house and then walked about 20 mins or so to his place. Along the way there was a local food court so i stopped for some roast duck and rice. It was pretty good. Once i got to Jays place it was pretty late so i checked out my replacement camera and hit the sack.

Feb 24
Today i had a lot planed. Fist off was some local spot for breaky. I had my first soft boiled eggs and what they called French toast loaf. It was pretty good some sort of sugar cain jelly or something inside. After breaky i walked down the famous "Orchard Road" where all the big shops and malls are. It was very impressive. From there i hit Singapore's Botanical Garden. Which was absolutely amazing. There were so many beautiful flowers and some new hybrid ones.
After the gardens I headed to two different food markets. The first was my meal the second was to try something new. So I tried pig tail soup. It was actually quite good. Not as good as Ox tail i dont think but it was good. The cool thing was you could eat the bones. I had been spitting them out when i accidentally chewed one they were super soft. The must have been cooked at super high temp for a long time or something. After my two lunches it started poring really hard so i decided to wash all that food down with Singapore coffee. Once the rain slowed down i headed for the Raffles hotel. One of the oldest nicest hotels in town. Then i walked over to the Esplanade theater on the bay. Which was a very large odd architectural building. Then i finished off the afternoon at the Asia Civilizations Museum, which was very interesting.
Then for dinner i headed over to another food market. This time i had BBQ sting ray and washed it down with a sugar cane juice. The sting ray was actually quite tasty as well. I thought it was going to be very tough or chewy but it wasnt. It wasnt even fishy tasting. After dinner i caught the subway back to Jays house and hit the sack

Feb 25
I didnt sleep well at all last night. Part due to the couch is very uncomfortable and i had acquired a blister on my foot the day before which was killing me because i ripped the skin off and tried super-gluing it. I moved into the spear bed where i think i was allergic to something because all night i had a stuffy nose which lead to all day being congested and feeling like crap. Which lead me to not doing much today. I did make it to Mt Faber and walked to the top to check out the view which wasnt very nice unless you like the urban country side haha. There were buildings and more buildings then on the water there were alot industrial type things.
After i hit the Mount i went to a Chinese Tea house and had some olong tea. Then I hit another food market where this time i just had chicken and rice but i took home some Curry Puffs and Some Sweet potato balls filled with stuff. There was one stall that had a long line so i decided to hop on i figured they had to have something good. Turned out to be some sort of fried dough "chinese doughnuts." They were pretty tasty.
Well i got to get ready for nam tomorrow. Ill be on the road alot but hope to keep this up to date.

Advertisement



26th February 2009

hey
Hey so where is that island you went to off of Bali? Sounds like a pretty sketchy place. So no more surfing for the rest of the trip? I thought you would be surfing at Jay's place but I guess not. Well Farra and I enjoy reading your entries it makes us feel like we are traveling with you. Oh by the way Kings of Leon are coming to Charlotte April 30th, I think you are coming back that weekend aren't you? If you will be home by then come down and we will go. Alright Terry talk to you soon, cheers as you say.

Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb