Day 18 - Sunrise on The Ganges and Sarnath


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
August 6th 2014
Published: August 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day 18 - Sunrise on The Ganges and Sarnath

We started with another early start. We set off at 4.45 for another boat trip on The Ganges, this time to experience the sunset. Again we were not disappointed; it was cloudy, but Emily and I managed to catch a few great photos just over a few minutes whilst it burst through a break in the clouds. The emotion was different for me today; I felt completely calm, and at piece with myself.
After the boat journey, some people went back to the hotel; Tom, Emily, Abi, Kyla, Ankur and I went to a local cafe for breakfast. I thoroughly enjoyed it! Yes, it is all about the food!
On returning to the hotel, Tom, Kyla, Ankur and I had a lazy beer morning on the rooftop. We continued to discuss both life, and personal issues, achievements and general thoughts, opinions and experiences. I enjoy sharing these times with open, like minded people. I gave in at about 11am for a nap.
In the afternoon we went by tuk tuk to the ruins of nearby Sarnath, the site of the Buddha's first sermon, and the museum. It was quite a long ride, bit really interesting insight to everyday life for many people on India, along the way.
I returned early with Jude, as she was feeling a bit sickly. Liz, Patrick and I went over the road to the local Lassi stall....really nice! .... If you can forgive the many flies that are present! It is served in a clay pot that you throw away when finished.
Tonight we are going with Ankur to eat at a Tibetan, family run restaurant. Numbers are slightly down due to few tender stomaches. Another east night was had by all that attended. Tomorrow is rare occasion...... A sleep in, but I bet I can't sleep in!
Jude and I are packed and ready to move again. We had a surprise visit from a 'cake bearing' Patrick:... I was joking around with him about stealing my piece of birthday cake! Bless him, and thank you, your sincere apologies are accepted xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



6th August 2014

Caught Up
yayy, I've caught up with ya travels - I'm all up to date. keep havin fun!! xx
6th August 2014

Loving it!
Thanks for all your comments Dim! I live knowing that you are reading it! Xxx
7th August 2014

Nice 2 C U
Have finally managed all your bloggs. Very interesting social history and geography - the food is good aswell. We are leaving pm to go down south as its Sadies birthday tomorrow - now my 60 Hippy!! ONCE A PILGRIM - ---------------

Tot: 0.557s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb