Random


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
February 27th 2007
Published: February 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thanks for all your well wishes everyone! Its always nice to hear from everyone. I'm leaving tonight to meet up with Penny. I'm taking an overnight bus to Delhi so I'm sure I'll get plenty of sleep tonight.

My last bus to Pushkar was interesting. The seats were really hard and made for people about a foot shorter then me and had the most awesome wall paper I've ever seen in a bus. It reminded me of one of my apartments in college where the kitchen has a really bad tile print wallpaper. The best part about the bus that made me keep giggling was the two glass chandeliers hanging from the ceiling. Very fancy! Everytime I looked up I started laughing....I think that's why my bus was a "deluxe". I'm curious to see tonights bus as a single sleeper is above the people in seats and it feels like a coffin. It's long enough to lay down in...and that's about it...You have windows on one side and then a door you can pull shut when you get tired of all the eyes watching your every move.

Begging here in India is a huge problem people ALL ages beg and at first I was giving money everyone because I'm a sucker and everyone was pulling on my heart...the other day I reexamed this and decided I'm only giving to REALLY old people and handicapped...these are the people that really need it and are not begging for a living. I think it's good karma to give to people who need it absolutely... others though it encourages... I decided this after I'd just bought a sandwich and was boarding my bus for a seven hour journey. I come out the shop and this lady begs for money telling me she's hungry. So I pull out my sandwich and try and give it to her....SHE SNUBS ME! Doesn't want the sandwich but keeps asking me for money... I got really mad...maybe more at myself. I tell her in hindi "This is not good...This is not good" Je baht achi nehee hai.... I'm sure I spelled that wrong.... and money doesn't grow on trees... Then she got really upset with me and stormed off.

So yesterday I'm walking down the main bazaar here in Pushkar which by the way is a tourist friendly place filled with people that get stuck here for awhile.... lots and lots of hippies...tons of israelis...interesting people! Anyway so I'm just walking down the street when I see the beloved cow...however this cow is extra special! I think it had a goat leg sticking off it's back....only in India!!!
I asked why? Kyo? But noone knew that I could understand...

I'm really excited to see Penny! Jasmine's real sweet got together a few things I really need....antibacterial soap is a miracle!!

I think after I spend time with Penny I am heading to Hardiwar....a small town north theres a Vispanna Meditation Center there I'm gonna "try" out.....basically you are quiet for 10 tens straight....hehehe I can't see that yet....I wonder what my mind will be doing by day ten.

Anyway wishing everyone well. Love you guys!

Advertisement



27th February 2007

Wow... quiet for 10 days???? Do you get to blog during that time? This should be interesting. I can't wait to hear what you come up with! Still no word on the proposal. Take care Love, Jen
27th February 2007

your adventures are great... I like reading them every morning! Sorry you were vomiting... gross... haha, did you have some pepto, hehehe. I love you! Andrea and I are going to the woodlands friday night... going to clean house for dad while he is away and I guess we'll be back saturday. i'm thinking about you all the time!! xoxoxoxo
1st March 2007

You look adorable!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb