Vomit Sucks


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Udaipur
February 24th 2007
Published: February 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone.

So I guess I'm lucky to make it a month before getting sick....but ouch what a couple days....."Delhi Belly" hit me two days ago with slight food poisoning I think. I've spent the last two days in bed curled up swearing, crying,and moaning. Feeling better now I can find it funny I had to cancel my bus ticket. The guys like why.....well.....your buses stop only once every 4 hours for women and I need one every 10 minutes.....he was silent and returned my money. I'm sure giving my 250 rupees back was better then seeing me vomit projectile puke all over his dirty bus seat cushions.

I've had a few interesting conversations and am learning it's much easier to tell everyone I'm married and my husband is home. Many of the guys have a perverted view of women thinking that if they travel alone the are easy and looking for sex. I've been hit on so many times and it always starts off really friendly....but eventually it's basically like "do you want to get it on with an indian guy?" Kind of lame but on the other hand I've seen who walks out of the guest rooms sometimes in the morning so I suppose "we" western women have a reputation. It's kinda funny I suppose...I've been told that "we" are exotic and so indian men are attracted to us. "We" being europeans, australians, americans...for some reason not israelis and japanese....Whatever..I think some girls decide to have sex on their trip so now all women that come to India are considered easy

...oh I read this "scam" posted in the lonely planet thorum about men telling women they love them and want to be with them and then stealing there things after they get together.
Okay first. I think you need to take a guy telling you in a week he loves you....with a grain of salt. Second if traveling alone lets be a little bit cynical and not so trusting...that's just my opinion....

Tomorrow I'm leaving for Pushkar for a couple days and then Tuesday I meet my friend PENNY!!!!
Kind of last minute she found out she has a shoot for National Geographic here in Delhi so I'm trying my hardest to get there by Tuesday! I can't believe I'll be able to see one of my good friends so quickly... I feel so lucky and truely blessed!
She's got a really nice hotel so I can't wait to take a loooooonnnnng hot shower, shave, and maybe get all the holy poop off my sandals...


Advertisement



26th February 2007

Sorry you got sick, I would gladly get sick in your place for you if I could. Thats awesome you get to see Penny. Enjoy that shower. Take care.
26th February 2007

That sucks. I'm sorry Sandra. Well, look at it this way- you are building your immune system up so next time it won't be so bad!!!! I hope you have a good time visiting Penny! Take care and be careful! love ya!
26th February 2007

Awww
Bless your heart! So exciting to meet up with Penny, though! I hope you're living out a life story over there, one that you can tell generations after you. We sure miss you! Take care of yourself. -Darcie
27th February 2007

Wow - You have survived delhi belly! I am really enjoying reading your blog and so amazed by your ability to connect with people and what you are unearthing in your exploration. Miss you here, but so glad you are doing this! I hope you have fun with penny and maybe I'll meet you somewhere in the world for the summer. Keep writing!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb