Just Checking In


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Udaipur
February 20th 2007
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I just wanted to say I'm okay and in Udaipur. I've been relaxing the last couple days. I took a night bus that went from 3:30 pm until 5:30 am. Very hard to sleep I got a single sleeper so that I could just lay down and sleep but it was really bumpy and you know how I get car sick sometimes....I didn't eat the whole time so nothing would come up.
The other thing that sucks is when the bus stops all the men jump out and pee alongside the bus with their backs facing the bus....I almost took a pic it's funny. What's not funny is the bus only really stopped to let women use the restroom a couple times. UGH! I had to pee sooooooo bad. So after the first time I just didn't drink anymore water. Learning Hindi helped to...I asked where's the bathroom as soon as I got off the bus beating all the other women to the restroom. I felt bad for some of the them because the bus was leaving before all of them got to go....
Sometimes I feel like you have to just jump into survival mode around here.....the more clever you are the easier it is to get by. Today I'm just reading and walking around the city. I think Udaipur reminds me a little of Venice. A romatic city....somewhere to come with a lover to gettaway. Otherwise there's nothing that's really captured me so far. It's picture perfect but lacks some of the charm I've found elsewhere.
So I've been running around with two Isreali kids....they are fun and interesting and have a lot to say about religion, politics, and so on. They invited me to come stay with them at there home....I would love to go...I wonder if I will.
Last night I went to a cafe which was pretty touristy....something magical about it though...everywhere I looked I heard different accents.....many french, isreali, australian, and people from Holland...I have not met one other American though since I've been here.
Anyway I think in a few days I'm heading to Mnt. Abu. It's a hill station where I'll be able to do some trekking. If not there then Rennapur which supposedly houses a beautiful Jaine Temple.
Love you all.
Sandra

Advertisement



20th February 2007

Hi!
I'm glad you are safe and having a good time. We have been working hard this weekend building the patio. Next time you come over we can chill out back! Miss you, and can't wait to hear about your next stop! Love, Jen
21st February 2007

Love your blog.! Glad you are having so many adventures. Miss you.
23rd February 2007

hey there sandra! thank you again for the text message, what a nice surprise! do you usually know where you'll be sleeping that night or do you decide that day? how was the beer and how much was it? i love you sandra! I'm babysitting saturday for andrea... so phil and andrea can enjoy their couple's massage that I got for them for Christmas. Speaking of Christmas gifts... do you use the blanket thingy I got you? xoxox

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb