Mira Nam Sandra He!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
February 15th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

You guys are cute! I've gotten several emails....where are you? are you alive? I happy to report I'm alive and well! And no Jen....no action on Valentine's Day! My dad emailed me and said he'd be my Valentine!
Sorry for the absence in emails...the computers in Jaisalmer are VERY slow. It's a pain to try to write so I only do it when I've got plenty of time. I've been really happy...feel like I am right where I'm supposed to be right now. I just back from Khuri which is a gypsy village outside of Jaisalmer. It was awesome! I was invited to stay with a family of seven. There home was made of clay, cow dung, and dirt. The home didn't have electricty and the father had not been able to find work in over a month. I've never seem more hospitality though....I was treated so well. Chai was made, dinner, as well as breakfast. When I went to bed they'd set up an entire room for me. It was more then I could have expected and more then I deserved to receive. I am continually blown away by the innate kindness of everyone I come across. This family doesn't even know where the money for their next meal is coming from however they open their hearts and their home to a complete stranger. I feel like I've got SO much to learn here.
I was out in the desert I got watch the sunset from atop a giant sand dune and ride a camel that continually farted on me... I couldn't stop laughing....it even had David beat...hehe!!! Dinner was cooked on an open flame and I was served first....I didn't eat much because I know everyone was waiting for me to finish. After I took a walk through the village and I could see every star in the sky it was sooooooooo awesome! I slept like a rock and in the morning Mousard made chai for me!
I am learning some recipes so that I can cook some food when I come home! Regular spices are ginger, corriander, targon, and pepper.....they call the blend masala.
Okay I love you all. Thanks for all the kind emails....it's really nice to read emails when I get on here. Love you! I'm thinking especially about you today Amy.

Advertisement



19th February 2007

Hey
Hey Sandra, it is Sunday night here 18th, and I just read that there was a train explosion on board a train headed to Pakistan from New Delhi. I know your last blog said you were in Jaisalmer, but I was concerned. Hope to hear from you soon. Carl

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0807s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb