Catching Up


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
February 16th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I've had time today to catch up and I wanted to write everything I've been seeing and doing. As I said I went out to the countryside yesterday and spent the evening with a family which was a very humbling experience. Anywhere I went the children followed I always atleast five pairs of eyes on me. They were thrilled at having their picture taken and skimming thru my travel books...I had nothing to offer in return accept a sack of candy I brought since I knew there were going to be children there. The father asked if I'd like a beer I said sure! I have not drank here at all and he said you know beer in India is for the rich man but if you like tonight because you are my special guest we will have one. What can you say? I went and bought the beer and I started crying and had to excuse myself to the bathroom which was a small outdoor fenced in area behind the house.
Besides that I've been befriended by an indian man which has taken me to see his friends and family. I've been really lucky to have him show me around Jaisamler. His friend invited me to dinner which I thought was going to be him, his wife, and two children....instead it was EVERYONE HA! In India all the relatives live in the same home or cluster of homes surrounding a small area. I came over and there were litterly about 30 people waiting for me to come inside. I again felt so overwhelmed by the generousity which was bestowed upon me. Not knowing me but being a friend of friend I was offered dinner, a place to stay, hindi lessions, and even cooking lessons.... His friends immediate family had 10 people living in an area smaller then my apartment....at night everyone rolled out a matt to sleep on...everyone lined up like sardines....but there is always room for one more....some of the most unselfish behavior I've ever seen.
I also had the opportunity to go to a wedding this past weekend. It was a holy wedding a descedent of Krishna the god was getting married.....Krishna is a really important figure in hinduism....it was breathtaking! The bride had all gold and pearl jewelry wrapped abound her from head to toe. Rose petals were all over the ground and food was served on the ground on plates made of large leaves. Everyone in the town was invited so food was made to serve all the people of Jodhpur....
okay I'm getting kicked out of the 24 hour internet cafe ha!
I guess I'll catch up on this later. Love to you all.
Sandra

Advertisement



15th February 2007

I wish I were there
Wow Sandra... I can't imagine a world of unselfish people who open their home and their hearts to a stranger. I guess the question is, how can we change our behavior and act more kind and loving like these people. Keep writing your blogs.... I am learning
16th February 2007

you are still much braver than I am
Sandra are most of the people Vegetarian? When the family gave up a room for you where did they all sleep? Does everyone sleep on mats in one room? Do the parents sleep seperate from the children? Cuz if they don't there must not be much of the midnight meeting going on. Unless they donot breath or groin. As for the spice mix do they use them as a rub ot just add to food? I have enjoed reading about all yout adventures. Can't wait for the next journal entry. Please be safe. You are in my daily thoughts. Love ya. Mama B.
17th February 2007

Your experiences are heartwarming, and affect imagination. The kindness of those around you is astonishing, and it is a sad reflection upon this distant community, by and large. The selfeshness and self-perceived righteousness that pervades the american psyche seems to be absent among those you write about so ardently. The love and respect afforded you causes me to weep openly for the sake of beauty... A beauty you are constantly disseminating through your log. thanks, much love May we wish that the most respected status symbol become faceless charity.
17th February 2007

great
Man, this is just blowing my mind! I ca not imagine a traveler walking around Austin and having some random stranger invite him/her into their house to celebrate with their friends! This should be a lesson that we all should learn from. We should be more open-minded to travelers here in the States. The closest thing I've seen to this is when you're in National Parks or near trails like the PCT that goes from MExico to Canada, often there are hikers that need rides or places to stay. I have giving rides to hikers in Yosemite and a hiker that needed to get to town from where i lived this summer. You learn so much from these little encounters with complete strangers and feel, first hand what humanity really is all about! So glad to hear you're having a pleasant experience so far. I'm off to find me a traveler to host!!! love you! e
18th February 2007

Beautiful
What a beautiful story Sandra. I feel like I am there, and it feels wonderful. Thank you for that! Take care!! Carl
20th February 2007

heart you like a mo'f**ker
the cheeeeeeeze is ooooold and moooooldie!

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0188s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb