Jodhpur and Crazy Women


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
February 11th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Nameste.

I just arrived to Jaisalmer on the northwest corner of India near the Pakistan border. It's night time here you guys are all sleeping....no more jetlag! Jaisalmer is probably the smallest town I've been to...I think I will like it. I LOVED Jodhpur. I have so many pictures to post but it's been difficult to get to a computer last few days and even more difficult to find one with a fast enough connection to download pictures.
So I found my way to Jodhpur with a gay couple from Holland. The guys were great. Both were well over six feet tall and a lot of fun. We laughed the entire trip to Jodphur. We settled into a hotel which had just opened paying only three dollars a night. I made friends there with the cooks which are two boys from Nepal. I am blown away by how many languages everyone speaks. The boys had picked up hindi in one year. I am now trying really hard to learn....I feel like I learn so much everyday. I would like to leave here being able to get by....it's really not that hard to catch on if you pay attention.
The city itself is amazing...small town tucked away in the hills with a huge fort surrounding it. I toured and found out that when the maharji's died the women would follow out after the body for the last time...a hand print would be made on the fort wall and then the women would actually commit suicide so that they could join their husbands in "celestial union" What??? I don't think so.....I'd be like I love you...I'm sad...but I'll see ya when I see ya. They said that the women would sit in silence as they went up in flames with their husbands body to be cremated. I also found out that this is now illegal in India however women still sometimes do this out of respect for their husband. Crazy huh?



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb