indigestion from chilis


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
March 4th 2009
Published: March 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Here I am at Students for a Free Tibet. I am working with mostly locals but one French guy is here too. The atmosphere is really lighthearted and we have a good time. Today I have been researching how to hide text documents behind pictures so people can carry information in and out of Tibet despite the Chinese governments heavy restrictions and thorough searches. It seems so "CIA" but everyone here talks about the spies in town and the e-mails they get from government officials posed as civilians. It's common for them but I feel like I am part of the good guy's team in a James Bond movie or something. The best part about my internship is that there is a little, old Tibetan lady who cooks here, so we get tea several times a day and authentic Tibetan food. That is where my caption comes from, I got a little overzealous with the garlic chilis today. But oh well. It has been sunny the entire time here, hovering in the upper 60's. I finally got into a guest house where I will stay for at least a month, then I may move in with a family. I just learned that the Dalai Lama won't be doing his annual teachings in March this year. I guess he is just too old... bummer. Oh, I saw the Tibetan Johnny Depp yesterday, not even kidding. His name is Tenzin Tsundue and he is an activist and poet and Johnny Depp's Tibetan twin. He wears a red head scarf to show passion for the Tibetan cause, much like what was worn is pirates of the Carribean. And he's got the glasses. That was pretty comical to see. I'm going to have dinner with my friend Dukbey and his sister who is former Miss Tibet and current Tibetan women's rights activist. Lots of intersting characters here. Things are going well, no better than that...they are great. I look forward to the anniversary on the 10th, going to be a BIG ordeal here in McLeod. My health is good, I don't forsee myself getting sick, the food is safe here, but I'll knock on wood just in case. Time to catch the sunset!
Love from India

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb