An Eventful Weekend!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Sha Tin
October 12th 2007
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Red team Cheering!Red team Cheering!Red team Cheering!

The red team making lots of noise at the swimming gala!
Obviously it requires a day off!...

Thursday was the School swimming gala ...and obviously this requires the day off the next day?! I like the system here...any kind of school event results in a day off! Brill. So the swimming gala involved me getting an extra early bus...something I was willing to do for a day off! I wore my new school t-shirt - supporting the red team. I sat with the red 'cheering team' in the stands. In typical Hong Kong style, it was very well organised....The opening ceremony saw the flag ambassadors marching (in the blue shoe covers you wear at swimming pools!) and raising the flag...then we all stood for the national anthem...then the school song, and then the opening prayer....Then the races could begin! A lot of the time I was clapping along to Chinese chants, but every now and then I took the mega phone and got some English cheering in there! After a few hours though, mega phones get a bit much! At the end, the school Brownies in full uniform were helping with the medal ceremony, and the winners stood on a podium, posed for photos with the principal.They even filmed some students
Some of the English StaffSome of the English StaffSome of the English Staff

Jake (CNET) me, Mimi, Kathy (NET) Holly (CNET) and 2 other Local English Teachers.
by the pool for the school TV. Then the board of directors were given a round of applause, and one of them gave a speech. Closing prayer, closing song, phew!!

After a long morning of cheering, we headed back to school. Then all the staff were treated to lunch in the floating seafood restaurant nearby on the river. All in all it was a good event! We had a nice seafood and dim sum lunch, and then I headed to my favourite coffee shop to chill out!

Last night I went to the Polytechnic University where I am doing some extra work. There is an event each week called big mouth corner, and its an opportunity for students to come and practice their English with natives. It was good fun, and I met some nice students there. We chat for an hour, and then have an organised event for an hour (last night was a quiz).

After Big Mouth Corner, a few of us headed to central, for a few drinks....but the best part....they were all free. There is this amazing concept in Hong Kong....on Wednesday and Thursday nights, if you go to the right bar, ladies
Tree roots hanging downTree roots hanging downTree roots hanging down

A community park in Yau Ma Tei
can get free drinks...not just any old drink...cocktails. Last night we went for a free cosmopolitan in one bar, and a free strawberry daiquiri in another. No catch, you just find out where the free cocktails are, and turn up! Sorry guys, it's not so easy for you!

How not to spend a day off...

After the school gala, I had the day off....it was ...eventful to say the least.... I woke up and read a note from my flatmate informing me we have a gecko...great....then, I spot it - on my doorframe! Only small, but still....I carried on....Putting the duvet cover on my duvet, suddenly a cockroach is upturned on the floor....slightly freaking out I throw a waste paper bin over the top! Eventually managed to throw it out of the window! Not the most chilled start to my day off! Went for a good gym class, and a coffee to get over the gecko and the cockroach! I now own some hard core bug spray as well! Visited Tin Hau temple in Yau Ma Tei, then headed to Central for some happy hour mojitos.

Science and Space!
Yesterday was a much better day...Went with
Park LifePark LifePark Life

Yau Ma Tei
a friend for a random day out, and we ended up having lots of fun in the Science museum, which is very hands on (70% apparently, according to the brochure!) and we saw an Imax deep sea show in the Space centre - a big dome ceiling where you watch the film in reclined seats. It was very good.
Then Carnivaaaaal....in Lan Kwai Fong (the main HK nightlife) there was a carnival last night, so I had fun exploring, and went to some nice bars that we cant really afford, but me and friend decided to nose around them all anyway last night! One of them was on the 29th floor, with a great view, and open air decking!

So yes, it has been an eventful weekend...

Hoping today will be more chilled out!
Love to all,
Jen xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Tin Hau TempleTin Hau Temple
Tin Hau Temple

Inside Tin Hau Temple, Yau Ma Tei
Science can be fun!Science can be fun!
Science can be fun!

Fiona and I at the Science museum in TST!
Bodyless!Bodyless!
Bodyless!

A very clever set of mirrors that makes you look body-less!
Hungry?Hungry?
Hungry?

The biggest burger and hotdog I've ever seen - $500 (about £30) and I don't know how many people it would feed, but they actually serve it in the restaurant!


14th October 2007

Bodyless!!
I love that photo of you with your head on a platter, it's hilarious!!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb