Down, but not Out in Georgia Pt. 2: Later... that same Nightmare


Advertisement
Georgia's flag
Asia » Georgia » Southern Georgia
July 17th 2014
Published: July 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Akhaltsikhe, Georgia



July 3rd 2014



You can add up the parts, but you still won't have the sum”

Leonard Cohen, Anthem



It is difficult to make our material condition better by the best law, but it is easy enough to ruin it by bad laws.”

Theodore Roosevelt




Stalin came from Georgia





I have just returned from the Police station in Akhaltsikhe... a little emotional. The test results on the content of my 'narcotics' (see previous blog) are back. The critical threshold was 2 gm. The Codeine total weight was found in the Police laboratory analysis to be:

In one set of 10 pills = 0.128 gm

In the other set of 8 pills = 0.1024 gm

TOTAL = 0.2304 gm

... so I am over the legal limit by 0.0304 gm.

I have tried to keep my days sane. While Akhaltsikhe has a limited amount of attraction and I seem to have walked the streets enough times now to feel like a local (mainly back and forth to the Police Station, and also to the local
Rabati Castle at sunsetRabati Castle at sunsetRabati Castle at sunset

During the festivities to mark the anniversary of the founding of Akhaltsikhe (12th century)
internet cafe to get references and other documents printed as I prepare my 'case'), the fort/ citadel (Rabati Castle) on the hill in the old part of the city with its mosque and many courtyards is from the time of the Jakelis (13th –14th century). Greishe, a friend of my landlord told me that it is the second largest fort in the world (the largest being Chittogarth in India where I visited last February – see blog # 829047).

My good luck was to attend a special town anniversay concert inside the fort and hear a wonderful traditional Georgian men's choir perform in full regalia and magnificent voice. Apart from that, Greishe took me to the river (where I swam and sat under the hot-spring feed) and up into the hills to some very old little church ruins.

I am staying in a room extension to a private house which both opens onto the family courtyard but has it's own bathroom and own street entry. This extension is not quite finished as Lova (the husband) does it in his spare time (he is a plumber)... and so I walk over loose boards on the landing to get down
Georgian Men's ChoirGeorgian Men's ChoirGeorgian Men's Choir

Performing inside Rabati Castle
to the courtyard. They are trying to turn it into a profitable 'hotel' sideline (there are three rooms). One early morning (about 4.30) I was disturbed by noise as the common bathroom was used followed by the sounds of love-making in the room next door, so the place is obviously serving a purpose for some friends or other of the family who needed a private place to make out after a late night on the town.

My landlady Irma beckons me at odd hours down to the courtyard (outside) kitchen – not a traditional feature for Georgia but an innovation of her husband... and a very practical summer addition to the house. There she plys me with borsche and noodle soups, bread, fetta cheese, tomato and cucumber salads, khachapuri (an Indian equivalent of a paratha) stuffed with cheese, chai and occasionally some home hooch (vodka). It's not unpleasant even though we do not share common language (her 10 year old daughter Diana is pretty good and says “I love English, it's so fun”). I feel accepted and cared for by this family. They understand I am going through a nightmare and they are sympathetic (and even apologetic) for what
Inside Rabati Castle Inside Rabati Castle Inside Rabati Castle

The old fortress of the Jakelis (13th–14th century)
Georgia is doing to me. Lova's plumbing business is just his day job... he is a bike enthusiast and often goes away with mates on tours and bush-wacks, and so we have a bond with my tales (and pictures) of my bike experiences in India. This outside kitchen also seems to be a local community meeting place with many friends and neighbours and Lova's mates popping in to chat and eat and drink at all times of the day.

But I digress: the nightmare process now as far as I can understand it is this:


• I choose my lawyer... for now I have decided to go with the Government lawyer that they provide. I have some advice that the system works and these people are OK.. and no guarantee that by paying out for a private lawyer I will get any better advice or representation.
• I then have a conference as far as I understand it... with the Public Prosecutor and my lawyer. I assume I then get clearer on my options. Its a kind of plea bargain session. I can plead guilty (I think) and then we determine a fine (I am told up to Aus $3,000 / 2,080 euros)….. but I am also told then I will have a criminal conviction against me (I really really do not want this!).
• OR I can claim injustice or whatever on the facts and circumstances and go before a magistrate for a determination of what happens. I am not denying I had these medications with me of course, but my lawyer revealed that the law was clear that I had to have 'knowingly' tried to bring illicit drugs into Georgia and in my case I did not know, could not know due to no English signage, and in ignorance simply offered Customs what I had when asked about 'medicines'. Then I would end up with a criminal conviction or not; a fine or not; and even gaol is an option (I have been told up to 6 years for this 'serious' drug offence.


What is really interesting (for lack of a better word) to experience and watch now playing in my mind and bringing me to emotional breakdown, is the psychological effect of how people are looking at me and thinking about me. We have somehow moved beyond the 'facts' … that I was caught inadvertently bring in two strips of tablets for pain relief in my first aid kit that are sold in over the counter at Pharmacies in Australia without prescription, and where I am just this guy who committed a criminal offence. So, process not-withstanding, a criminal.

So tomorrow I go again to the Police station and meet with the Police to confirm my decision on the lawyer... and to then arrange a meeting that afternoon with the lawyer (if I stick to having the free legal aid lawyer) so that we can move on to this thing with the Public Prosecutor.

And so it goes. Keep breathing... slowly and calmly....


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



25th July 2014

A Nightmare Indeed
It just gets worse for you, what a nightmare. I look forward to the next installment :)
25th July 2014

Just tell me you're ok
Ok, So this may be really fun after the fact, but please just tell me where you are now and in what condition. Why don't you join us all in Workum, NL on 29 August? Love John
28th July 2014

Nightmare in Georgia
I've read the other blog so I know you are alright but this just screams of insanity. I'm glad you are doing well. Keep those stories coming...but not this kind.
3rd August 2014

Glad it all worked out and you are a free man luvy. Best hugs!!!

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb