More buses in Banna


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Jinghong
June 28th 2010
Published: July 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Footbridge Footbridge Footbridge

Leading to the Tropical Plant Gardens - this is the smaller entrance.
I wasn't sure what I wanted to do today, but I knew I couldn't sit around in town all day doing nothing in this heat with no breeze. I was so close to the Mykong River. Where the hell was the wind? So after breakfast at Mykong Cafe (yes, I was now a regular, practically a stock owner) I decided against the scooter yet again and headed for the bus station. I decided to go to Menglun to the Tropical Plant Gardens (80RMB unless you're a student, then it is 40RMB I think), which are the largest in China.

I bought my ticket (16RMB) and got on the bus, but was worried about when to get off. The driver didn't know where I was going today and he seemed less likely to care. Then on the way there I realized there were signs in English. Road signs. In the middle of nowhere. How weird. Come to think of it, yesterday was the same. So I saw signs for Menglun, then we passed the entrance to the plant gardens! It was a huge, modern, ultra sleek driveway and hotel! Wow! I didn't know how to ask the driver to stop because the dialect is so different here, and then a couple stopped him and got out, so I got out with them, and without a word of English, I pointed to where I wanted to go in my Lonely Planet (it's written in Chinese) and they flagged a tuk tuk and he charged me 3RMB to go to the smaller entrance at a footbridge. I asked how much in Chinese, and she didn't understand, so she said, "Excuse me?" in perfect English! What? Then she asked for my student card! In English! Of course, I am not a student but I thought maybe my Kentucky driver's license would fool her. It didn't. Eighty RMB later I walked over the footbridge and was astounded at the size of this place when I saw the map.

There was almost no one there, so I walked to my heart's content, reapplied more mosquito repellant, broke out the umbrella to block the sun, and really enjoyed the peace and quiet. I sat under a covered gazebo in the middle of a pond in the middle of this monstrous flower garden for half an hour until these four Chinese people came along and tried to
Cool TrellaceCool TrellaceCool Trellace

You wouldn't believe the huge, stinging thing that flew out of this when a bunch of Chinese tourists decided it would be a good idea to shake it.
talk to me. They were loud, obnoxious, smoking, and one girl dropped her water bottle in the pond. I grew weary of them very quickly, and when one woman broke out her camera to take a picture of me, I just got up and left.

The bus ride took about an hour I think, maybe a bit more, although in Lonely Planet it says two hours. Definitely not. It was worth 80 RMB. Stunning, peaceful, and pristine. I highly recommend a visit.

When I got too hot, I decided it was time to go and walk into the town of Menglun to find the bus station. I never did, but I got some wild looks while walking through this small town. Wow! I thought I got stared at in the Middle East! The children literally could not believe their eyes and they would stop dead in their tracks and stare. I never found the bus station, so I just started walking along the road back to Jinghong so I could flag down a bus. Instead, a bus flagged me down and the driver was so excited to pick up a lone westerner.

Back in Jinghong I met my roommate for the night, a Chinese gal from Sichuan. It is very unusual for Chinese people to travel alone as tourists. We both took a nap and then I went to dinner at, yes, Mykong Cafe where I had steamed veggies with a peanut sauce I will never forget. I also ordered hummus and fresh pita bread. This was way too much food and I was feeling pretty guilty about wasting so much, when two women and a baby came begging. Now normally I am irritated by beggars that ask for money while I'm eating, but these two weren't asking for money. They were asking if they could have my leftover food that would otherwise be thrown out. I gave them everything, and they thanked me profusely. I will never forget those women with their filthy but colourful clothes, the baby in the sling on her back, and their black teeth. The Bulang people believe black teeth are beautiful and they stain theirs with betel-nut, so I blieve these women were Bulang.

I was going to buy them fruit at a street vendor, but by the time I paid, they were gone. I went back to the hostel
FountainFountainFountain

One of many in this huge botanical garden
and read a bit and went to bed, but I could not get them out of my mind.

Off to Lijiang tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Grassy RoofGrassy Roof
Grassy Roof

In the Tropical Flower Garden, sometimes referred to as the 'Outlandish Flower Garden' on the signs in the park
Yellow Roses Yellow Roses
Yellow Roses

lining a walkway in the flower garden
Medicinal Plant GardenMedicinal Plant Garden
Medicinal Plant Garden

Shortly after I took this picture, a Chinese woman fell knee deep in the pond while trying to get that 'perfect' shot. She had high heels on. Priceless.
Bridge into the GardenBridge into the Garden
Bridge into the Garden

This is the bridge at the main entrance. I exited this way.
Outlandish Flower GardenOutlandish Flower Garden
Outlandish Flower Garden

Just a small, small portion of the flower garden that is just a small portion of the entire tropical plant garden.
Hotel at Main EntranceHotel at Main Entrance
Hotel at Main Entrance

Huge hotel at the main entrance of the Tropical Plant Garden - in the middle of nowhere.
Not sure what these areNot sure what these are
Not sure what these are

but there were a lot of them.
Pavilion in the Flower GardenPavilion in the Flower Garden
Pavilion in the Flower Garden

I managed to sit here for a half hour of peace and quiet before 4 Chinese tourists broke the silence. I never knew 4 people could make so much noise.


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb