Life in Shanghai... Day 2 and 3


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Pudong
August 25th 2010
Published: August 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have been super busy with my school orientation and so on for the past few days, but it has been soo helpful. I am feeling much more prepared. Tomorrow we get to go back to the Puxi Campus of our school so I will get to see Pamela!
I think the 4 of us who are staying on this satellite campus have started to see the down fall of living out here. We are not really in the hub area of the city but more in the high technology part. We have lots of computer companies around us and such so there isnt really that much within walking distance. There is a subway station which is nice but it is still about a 15 minute walk to it. There are also cabs we can take fairly cheaply. In talking with some of the other teachers who have lived here in the past I think it is something that just comes with getting free room and board. We are not paying rent so I guess paying for cabs isn’t that bad. Most of the 2nd or 3rd year teachers have about a 30 minute commute but they are living in the down town area of Puxi (across the river from Pudong) which is more centerally located.
Anyways, yesterday the 4 of us who are living on campus went out to explore and to get dinner. Our first ride on the Chinese subway was of course at RUSHHOUR. Let me tell you how crazy it gets. There are people pushing, knocking into to you and showing all to get onto an already over packed train and when you do get on there is nothing to hold onto. This was our situation but it was only made worse by the fact that Becca and I made the train but Aaron and Mike didn’t. At this moment Becca’s phone also decided to stop working so she had to speak Chinese to a lady and somehow convinced her to let Becca call the guys on her phone. We finally found the guys again and went to dinner but it was a great first adventure on the Chinese subway.
So we went down to Nanjing Road and went to the Bund and to look at Pudong from across the river. There are some stunning views but there were also TONS of people there. After dinner though there was a huge blister growing on the bottom of my foot so Becca and I headed back to school. I picked better shoes today so it has not been bothering me as bad today. The right shoe makes all the difference.
Let me tell you real Chinese food is out of this world. WOAH! Epic to say the least. It is also very nice to have people to speak Chinese around because they can help you order. Also most places we have eaten at so far have pictures of the dishes which is convenient. Some even have English translation of the dishes but that can be misleading too. I really need to start working on my Chinese because the copy man in our school doesn’t speak English and we need to be friends with him! It has been a good couple of days for exploring the city that will be my home for the next 10 months.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

my messy living roommy messy living room
my messy living room

I am still unpacking everything
tiny kitchentiny kitchen
tiny kitchen

I don think I will be doing much cookin' in here. I did turn on the sink today and it sounded like something was dying in the pipes
PudongPudong
Pudong

I live on this side of the river but not in this pretty part!


25th August 2010

Wed.
VC, so proud of you and your adventure. My best friend is leaving for Shanghi next week. She is opening a design studio with North Carolina made furniture!! to the Chinese!! When I know more I'll share. You take care and we love you! Tana
25th August 2010
we get a little balcony

looks like an industrial park
well, at least you can see the blue sky there. if you live in Puxi, you have to deal with the smog.
26th August 2010

Great to see pictures and read
It was so great to read your blog, see pictures of places and hear that the food is great. Pamela is still having computer issues therefore we have not been able to skype or talk. I just signed up with skype to make calls to her mobile but can't seem to figure out how to make that work as well. I really wish the 2 of you were at the same school. I guess with only 4 English teachers you will pick up the Chinese more quickly out of necessity and you will all become very close. Pamela said there are around 85 English teachers at her school. It will be great to hear and see your experiences from 2 different areas. Well I am so glad I found your blog. Its is great Elli
27th August 2010

Great adventure
Thanks for doing this blog. I always enjoy learning about other parts of the world. I'll have to remember this site when I travel to England next spring. Keep up the great messages.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb