Arrival


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Pudong
August 24th 2010
Published: August 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The trip over to China was not to bad. The 14 hours went pretty fast I think with the help of a personal movie player, 3 Tylenol pm and a pillow. I slept for about 5 ½ hours and got up just in time to go over my information and to get ready to land. I met the cutest family in the customs line. They were from South Carolina and had spent the past 5 years in China. They had 3 of the cutest children. Two of which were actually born in China. They still had southern accents though. They were coming back from their summer vacation in Pawleys Island, South Carolina. The husband had been working for a Charlotte company that has a lot of dealings with Shanghai. I could not imagine having that little family in China, but the mother said that the children are learning both English and Mandarin. I could really think of nothing better. What a great experience for those kids.
There were several Marshall people on my flight and one guy named Aaron going to my same campus. I am in the Pudong District of Shanghai which is the newer part. We actually feel like we are in the suburbs because our neighborhood is surrounded by high tech companies and not many stores which is kinda of a bummer. No worries though we do have a grocery store around the corner and it is a classic Chinese store. I never want to know what to know was 90% of the stuff is in there. There are only 4 new foreign teachers staying on campus. Aaron from West Virginia, Becca from Jersey, Mike from Southern Cal and myself. They all seem to be awesome and there are several other American teachers at our school who just dont stay on campus so hopefully we will get to know them pretty well too.
Well must run to bed but expect more tomorrow about my little apt and the blisters that I already have on my feet.


Advertisement



24th August 2010

Yay!! I loved reading this!! Can't wait to hear more from you :) Love you!
25th August 2010

Good Luck
So glad you're blogging your trip! So sorry I missed the JASNA meeting and your farewell :-( What another exciting adventure you are on. The best of luck to you! Take care.

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb