Asia Weekly


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
August 29th 2006
Published: August 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

McDonalds in ShenzhenMcDonalds in ShenzhenMcDonalds in Shenzhen

Great Customer Service
I can't say that I am a celebrity, because I don't know what that really means, but if it includes someone taking your picture with their camera phone while just walking down the street, then maybe yes I might qualify. But if that isn't celebrity proof enough how about, when you walk past a group of your soon to be students and one of them realizes "who you are" and then they all start to yell "Helloo!" "Helloo", one after another kinda like the wave at a sports stadium. Or maybe I would make it on the cover of Asia Weekly in one of those sections "Stars just like you!" Only the Asia Weekly version would say, "Americans just like you" - and there would be a picture of me with my shopping cart and a captions stating "Americans buy toilet bowl cleaner, just like you." But the icing on the cake that makes me believe that if China had a Asia Weekly, I might make, maybe not the cover, but surely and inside page, maybe towards the front, would have to be my experience yesterday when I frequented the McDonalds in my local little suburb. It was a hot day and I had just finished a nice little walk, and thought, I make a quick stop in McDonald's and get a nice little sundae. I thought I might be able to slip by unnoticed, since I'm not the only white person in the building (the big statue of ronald mcdonald being the other one!). So anyway I walk in an it appears quite crowded...no problem, I'll just wait in line......Oh, hold on....Here comes on the McDonald's workers to ask me what I would like. I kindly explain to her in clear english (that she doesn't speak) that I can't speak chinese. So what does she do. Well what and star struck employee would do, so goes behind the counter and finds the English version of the McDonalds menu and comes back to let me take a look. I find what I want and think good, when it's my turn in line, I will take this menu and point and show the cashier. But instead, the worker, again asked me what I wanted, wrote down some characters on here little notepad and went behind the counter, made me my sundae, came back around, took my money, and I was on my way. All the while there were about 25-30 chinese people in line ahead of me. If only she would have given the sundae to me for free. That treatment must be saved for the real celebrities.....


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb