Expectations


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
September 8th 2014
Published: September 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Before returning to Guangzhou, I decided to test out a new experiment on myself: try not to create any expectations. According to yogic philosophy, expectations of any sort create havoc on appreciating something as it truly is and must be avoided like the plague. So, set on experiencing China again as it really is, I completely blocked Guangzhou from my mind for the last couple of months in Canada. I did such a good job of it that if anyone asked me if I was excited about returning to China, the only truthful answer I could give them was, "it hasn't hit me yet".

I tried my best to remain in that "no expectations" state throughout all of the months of preparation and planning. The prep work was so intense and all consuming anyway that it didn't give me much time to think of anything else...

...or so I thought...

Despite my best attempts, I must have had some kind of deep-rooted expectations because after being in China a couple of days, I turned to Sean-genuinely surprised- and said, "if feels like I never left".

It's the weirdest thing. It feels like my four years in Canada was nothing more than a coffee break. China rolls on in much the same way it always did/does. The air where we live still smells like wet rain forest, the green beans served with rice and the steamed fish eaten on a plastic table on the street is still as delicious as it always was. The mosquitoes still fly like they have ninja training and the massages still hurt like hell.

Surprisingly, I haven't forgotten a lick of my Chinese. I thought I would struggle like an amateur, but if anything, my Chinese rocks better than ever before. I had ample opportunity to test it out when one of Sean's bag were misplaced for a couple of days and we were given a thousand dollars from Visa to replace "the essentials". We braved the crowded Tian He Mall and managed to come out with a whack of stuff for Sean (and a couple of pair of the most awesome shoes for me!) We even managed to get Sean a new razor which will work anywhere in the world😊

I wasn't really expecting to get my homeopathic remedies and my henna here because both look so sketchy (see photos). If I was a border crossing official and I opened up a black binder and was greeted with all of those rows of vials with white balls in them, I would definitely bring the person carrying in for questioning and probably confiscate the medicine for good measure. However, I really wanted to bring my remedies with me, so Sean ordered a special case from Europe for me and one of its features is that it is X-ray repellent (being that X-rays are no good for homeopathic medicines). After careful consideration, Sean and I agreed to pack it as carry on so that we could try to explain it if the case showed up as anything other than a black book when going through the X-Ray machines.

Well, in the course of a couple of days, that homeopathic remedy case went through 5 different security checks and it didn't so much as raise an eyebrow. We were able to peek on one of the security screens and see that it just looks like a black book. So inconspicuous.

Despite all of my worrying and advance preparatory work to make it seem more legit, not a single bag of my henna was dumped or even inspected.

I wasn't sure how Sean would react to China. Guangzhou is one of those places that you either love or hate. It is probably too early for Sean to have formed a love or hate opinion, but he seems to have settled in here quite easily. He spent the entire afternoon creating his syllabus in his most OCD like fashion.

I am certainly glad that I will not be going to yoga school until next year, as my "set no expectations experiment", was an epic fail. I had expectations all over the place that caused me a great deal of stress and worry.

However, not being one to accept defeat so easily, I have decided to run this experiment again.

And this time I may have started with an unfair advantage. Finally sitting in China after months of planning and hard work with Sean beside me, I cannot help but think that everything is as it should be.

Advertisement



10th September 2014

Good luck as you embark on this amazing adventure
It's great to have the opportunity to follow your adventures! What an awesome opportunity. We wish you well and look forward to keeping in touch as you make your dreams come true! Keep in touch! Angie does travel to China on occasion so who knows - maybe you can meet up one day! Love Aunt Susan & Uncle Angie
10th September 2014

How great to hear from you! Thank you for your well wishes, and if Angie finds that he will be in China, let us know! It would be fantastic to connect in such a great place!
10th September 2014

Who knows?
Angie tells me that he does in fact travel to Guangzhou and the next time he plans a trip there he'll be sure to arrange a visit! Who knows, maybe I'll tag along!
17th September 2014

Love these entries. I miss you already
18th September 2014

So glad you are enjoying!!! Miss you too...be sure to cause lots of trouble and think of me when you do!

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 81; dbt: 0.089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb