Here We Go!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
September 4th 2014
Published: September 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Here we go!




After months of planning, we are about to board the airplane to Beijing, the first stop on our ten month journey through East Asia.

It has been interesting that over the past few months, the words that I have heard the most is, “Are you not nervous? It is going to be such a change!” and “While I envy you two, I could never do it”. Now that our departure day has come and our current chapter nearly at an end, I feel more relaxed than ever; our adventure is about to begin!

So often I hear people start a thought with, “I wish I could...” or “Maybe one day...” or “If I was in a different situation...”, and while of course life is always throwing new challenges at us, it is the process of overcoming these challenges that allows us to grow. While the only constant is change, our global culture is continually embracing an ideology of sameness.

The Big-Box era has forced people and cities across the globe to assimilate; a Wal-Mart in New York is no different than that of one in Mexico, China or anywhere else in the world. The top ten hits in remote Africa are the same in Toronto and Germany. We are driven to join the same social circles, speak the same language and conduct ourselves in similar ways. We preach the philosophy of pushing boundaries, being an individual and thinking outside the box, yet the constructs that define our daily routines are designed to confine us in such a way that while we believe that we are deciding our future, our paths are quite controlled.

Change is good, and sometimes the only way to break the mold, is to make a drastic change! If nothing else, the greatest lesson that the past few months has taught me, is that change is an action. I was settled – to a certain degree – and I had acquired all the stuff that I had thought defined success; it was then that I realized that I had lost some of myself in the restrictive responsibilities that came with that kind of success.

Today, we are free! We have liberated ourselves from the stuff that limited our mobility. With two bags in hand, we are off for a new adventure... so long as we remember not to assimilate ourselves, we will always be free! And with that said, the world awaits!



Next stop, Beijing!

Advertisement



4th September 2014

Bon Voyage
I am so glad I got to speak to both of you today and hear your voices before you left. Wishing you an amazing trip and a wonderful adventure. Bon Voyage!
5th September 2014

Hi! It was wonderful to chat with you as well... we just stayed our first night in Beijing and are about to hop on the next plane to take us to home base in Guangzhou! My luggage for the year was lost, so this weekend I am going shopping! :)
6th September 2014

Bitter Sweet
It was such a bitter sweet time for us when the time finally came to say so long to both of you at the airport. As we wiped away the tears, we talked about what lucky parents we are and how excited we are for the 2 of you to be sharing such an amazing adventure together that has only just begun! Losing your bag only adds to the "real". Lost luggage certainly runs in our family! Happy shopping. Love you both! Mom & Dad

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb