The Hutongs


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
May 9th 2007
Published: May 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After the drum tower my mom and I went to look for some batteries, because I was dumb enough to forget them! Haha. While living in Shanghai, I know prices of things like batteries...for a pack of 8 Energizer or good batteries, it is about 16rmb. We walked in to a little shop, and because we were foreign, the woman tried to sell us 8 batteries for 48rmb!!! That is one reason I am happy I have lived here for two months before we took our trip. Also on our trip a man at a water stand tried to sell us 4 waters for 20rmb. When he said the price, I looked at him and said "what!” and laughed. I told him that I knew the real price of the water (2rmb each) and we paid the real amount. I feel like those are some of the things not everyone knows about when traveling to different places.

We finally found batteries at a good price and we then took a rickshaw ride though the Hutongs (back roads of Beijing). The homes and shops were in very poor condition and some were being torn down since the 2008 Olympics are coming to Beijing (as my Lonely Planet China book says "the successful 2008 Olympic bid was a kiss of death"...its true) It was interesting seeing those homes, because in Shanghai, I am used to seeing apartments everywhere (no homes and communities like the Hutongs). To learn more about Hutongs click on this link: http://www.chinavista.com/experience/hutong/hutong.html

When our ride had ended, we were able to meet and explore a real Chinese family and home in the Hutongs. The man we met showed us in to his home, and offered us tea and snacks. We asked our tour guides questions about the man’s home, and they translated his answers to us. Family is very important in Chinese culture. He had a table in his home that was 180 years old! We talked about Feng Shui and how many Chinese configure their homes to maximize eternal harmony. Our guide pointed out the different aspects of the home and told us what it represented and why it was placed in the position it was.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

HutongHutong
Hutong

Old buildings in the Hutongs
Home VisitHome Visit
Home Visit

This is a picture of me and the man who invited us into his home.
MomMom
Mom

Mom having tea and snacks at the home we visited.
180 year old table180 year old table
180 year old table

The man who we visited had this table in his family for 180 years!
KitchenKitchen
Kitchen

Kitchen of the man we visited
Kitchen Kitchen
Kitchen

Other side of the kitchen
StoveStove
Stove

The stove in this house was outside of the cooking area, near the kitchen table.
CatsCats
Cats

There were many cats who lived at the mans house, he also had a bird and a little pond with fish.
CourtyardCourtyard
Courtyard

This was also part of the home.


10th May 2007

Perspective
Hi Becky, You know people have laughed at my cabin up north. Compared to these folks, I have a mansion..... LOL Aunt Jean and I are very proud of you. Uncle Mike
10th May 2007

Cool!!!
Becky and Joan, It looks like you 2 are having a great time, what an experience! I love checking your blog and seeing all the interesting places you've been, and all the fun facts. I can't believe that you were invited into that man's house. Can't see that ever happening here. Enjoy every minute of you stay. We love you, Aunt E
11th May 2007

Do they really eat cats there?

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb