The Park


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
May 13th 2007
Published: May 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Pet ShopPet ShopPet Shop

There are many people selling pets on the streets on the weekends. Everywhere I walked I heard the little cherping chicks and quacking ducks.
Sunday was a beautiful day! It was in the upper 70's and sunny. I stayed in the city this weekend with my friend and we decided to get lunch and sit at the park and eat. While walking around I decided that I need to start taking more pictures of things and people on the street so I don’t forget China. Some of these things are starting to seem normal to me now, while others still feel different. On the weekends there are always many street vendors out selling toys, hats, food and animals. Now, I am used to seeing people selling items on the street on blankets, but the pet store on the bike seems a little strange to me. I feel bad for the animals because they are in tiny cages and in boxes. People sell things like rabbits, chicks and ducks (I get the feeling that these animals don't last long). After the park we went to Carrefour, which is a large Wal-Mart, like store. It is a nightmare going there especially on Sundays! But, I was very excited to see a large pig face in the meat department. This time I took a picture of it
Pig FacePig FacePig Face

A better shot of the pig face. I still have not tried it.
and it is clearer than the other one I have.

Well I am on the down hill slope of my journey...only 7 weeks left! I know it will go by fast.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Selling on the StreetSelling on the Street
Selling on the Street

Many people sell toys, hats, and other items on blackets on the street.
KFCKFC
KFC

In Shanghai we have KFC, Pizza Hut, Mcdonalds and one Taco Bell...also about 100 Starbucks! Even though they have the same fast food chains, the food is a little different.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb