Children's Day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 11th 2007
Published: June 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Fallen horseFallen horseFallen horse

Inside the sculpting yard.
In China there is a Children's Day (June 1st). So we set up a carnival/game day for the kids at the school. They loved it! It was a lot of fun to set up and do activities with the kids. The Chinese teachers set up an activity in a few of the rooms and the English teachers set up a carnival type area in the large play room. We had pin the tail on Nemo, pie in the face, face paint, a fishing game and throw a ball through a hoop. I volunteered to be at the pie in the face station, where the kids threw paper plates full of shaving cream all over me. It started only in the face, then they got the hair and pretty much covered my entire body in shaving cream. One of the kids was pretending to shampoo my head with shaving cream. It was funny, I could see that little twinkle in each of their eyes after we explained each station and especially after they knew they could throw pies at Miss. Becky.

School is going well. We have a field trip to the Shanghai aquarium this Friday. It is in Pudong
My StreetMy StreetMy Street

I buy fruit from the woman in the far shop.
which is about an hour and half drive from the school with traffic. It is going to be a long ride for those kids (and teachers). I am excited to visit the aquarium, hopefully it is an easy place to take 40 children under the age of 6 (including my twelve 2 and 3 year olds).

I found a really great pizza place that is about a 7minute walk from my house and they also deliver. I have had pizza here that was not so good, but this place is great (or maybe I can't remember what good pizza tastes like). Besides the pizza place, my western bakery at the corner gave me a delivery menu for an Italian restaurant. The food there was ok, there is an Italian place in the city that has really great food.

I have included more pictures of my neighborhood/town area.

Only 3 more weeks left in the city! Time is really moving fast.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Hardware StoreHardware Store
Hardware Store

Inside one of the hardware stores on my street.
My StreetMy Street
My Street

Just outside the pottery/sculpting yard.
Children's Day Children's Day
Children's Day

This is the large play room where Sofia, Michelle and I set up the little carnival.
Children's DayChildren's Day
Children's Day

My little friends thowing shaving cream all over me.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb