Possibly the coolest thing I have ever seen.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Haidian district
July 14th 2009
Published: July 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

wowwowwow

outside the most spectacular thing I have ever seen in my life.
Today was interesting, I went to the Lama temple, which is a place where 70 monks pray and live. I saw possible the most incredible thing of my entire life. There was a statue of Buddha that stood 80 feet tall, and was carved from a single piece of Wood. It was an incredible site. Such amazing detail, and I really can’t describe it in words. I wish I would have been able to take pictures, however, it was not allowed to be taken because there were many, many people that were praying. It was an amazing site!!


Also, we were able to go to the “earth goddess temple”. We stumbled upon this on our way to the Lama Temple, but it was more than worth the money to go and see it. Inside of this temple, there were several “layers” in which people would stand while people would sacrifice animals to the Earth Goddess. It was incredible; they gave a little show, showing us what actually transpired during the sacrifices. It was also an incredible site.


Also, another thing that I’m noticing, is I’m really enjoying all of the food I’ve eaten. The worst food I’ve
Sacrifice ceremony Sacrifice ceremony Sacrifice ceremony

Getting ready to sacrifice.
eaten came from a McDonalds actually. The soups are amazing, and I don’t think I could really eat anything else. I’m really becoming a pro at using chop sticks. The only thing is cutting, I haven’t mastered that as of yet. :P

I move tomorrow as well, and get to meet the principle. So i hope that it goes well.

Well, I am off to go have a couple drinks at a wine bar and smoke some hookah. Then after that, it is off to see Harry potter about 13 hours before anyone back home is able to..


Bye for now!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

At the Earth Goddess PalaceAt the Earth Goddess Palace
At the Earth Goddess Palace

Just a very cool little circle in the middle of no where!
:):)
:)

It just was so random. It didn't work though.


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb