CHINA!! my first couple of days


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Forbidden City
July 14th 2009
Published: July 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone, I arrived in China two days ago now, and it has been a very interesting experience. I arrived about 45 minitues late, and I walked right by the people picking me up, so that was very embarassing. 😊

but eventually, I called some people, and found the people, so we then took a drive back to my hostel i'm staying at temporartely untill i get moved into my perminet quarters tomorrow. So for I have been able to see Forbidden City, The Old Summer Palace, Tian'anmen Square, The Chinese national art gallery, and downtown Beijing.

Forbidden City was an amazing place, so beautiful , and just full of history. I'll put a couple of my pictures up from it, very impressive the scale of it.


I was even taken to a place thats called "the electronic capital of the world", as my friend from Beijing put it. It was amazing to see all of the people, asking me to buy cameras, JUST b/c i was american. The one thing i find very odd, however, is the fact that in these stores, there are about 5 people working at a place that in the US we
Forbidden CityForbidden CityForbidden City

I'm holding the fan, idk, I didn't see too many guys walking around with the fan...
would have 1 person working. I guess thats communism?

Staying on the theme of the electronic section, another thing i did was get ready to buy a cell phone here. Then i looked at prices here. Well the actual price isn't bad, however, people pick there own cell phone numbers here. So people pick "lucky" numbers. Numbers like 7, and 8, and the more numbers that are lucky in the phone number, they more the cell phone is worth. We were looking at prices for these numbers; and i am still kinda in shock. for a cell phone that had 5 7's and 8's it was worth........ 23,000 RMB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thats about 3,000 USD!!!!!!!! its CRAZY!!!!


One of the funniest things, I still think, even after being here for these two almost 3 days, is the traffic!!!!!!!! its so funny, b/c well first, there are so many cars. Thats impressive, I've never been to NYC, but I think that it wouldn't really compare. ALso, the drivers are NUTS, if you are in their way, you will be hit (same with bike riders). I've almost been cliped numerous times thus far. But to be honest, it was just funny. But everyone here is ALWAYS honking their horns. even people on bikes honk ya as you ride by!!!

Well I guess thats it for today, i'll see what happens tomrrow, or when i'll be able to get online again, I can't update my facebook to tel my friends or anything, so I guess i'll have to fiend for Facebook 😊


well talk to you all soon!


JOn


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Forbidden CityForbidden City
Forbidden City

I'm holding the fan, idk, I didn't see too many guys walking around with the fan...
Forbidden CityForbidden City
Forbidden City

An amazing structure, i really don't know what it was supposed to be, or what its function was, but it was cool!
the squarethe square
the square

Thinking.....


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb