a 1, a 2, a 333333


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
February 25th 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My first 'school lunch'My first 'school lunch'My first 'school lunch'

Not bad for 75 cents!
Dad, the title of this blog is dedicated to you and all the energy you spent pushing us on the swings many years ago. I now know how it feels. I tried out the classic method of grabbing their feet and counting to 3 before pushing them away. The line was 10 kids long before the first kids got off. I can even count to three in Khmer now just because of this game... muoy, be, bi (obviously the spelling is wrong but this is how it sounds).

Today I was given my offical timetable. This is wonderful news becasue I only have to spend 1 hour in the mornings with the ltittle kids!!! I know this sounds horrible but really, I am so bored I just don't think I could handle a month of nursery rhymes all day long. After that is done, about 10am I move onto small remedial classes to help improve english reading, writing, vocab and speaking skills. If any of you know a good internet site for esl stuff please let me know - or anything else that might be helpful. I wouldn't normally ask but you all did such an awesome job with info for the littlies I thought it's worth a go!

Tonight will be an early night as it was late last night when we came home from Owen's farewell dinner. We have spent the majority of the day cleaning and preparing the school for Saturday's fundraiser. Owen plans to spend most of tomorrow night in the kitchen preparing food. I think we are all expected to chip in and help. I have already expressed my lack of skills when it comes to food prep. Lisa, Mia, Mum/ Dad,- you know what my cutting skills are like! Maybe I can peel the carrots????

Abi has just left for the airport in a tuk tuk. She is picking up her Mum and her Mum's friend . They have flown in from Wales and I imagine they will be shattered. They are staying at a nearby guest house and are also coming to Siam Reap with us on Sunday.

Can I please ask one more favour? I LOVE getting the messages/ comments you are posting- it's the highlight of my day reading them but it doesn't tell me who wrote them. If you can remember, please put your name at the end. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Mia, I love the book you gave me. I'm nearly half way through and pacing myself so that I don't finish too quickly. I keep forgetting to tell you.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

carrots after gratingcarrots after grating
carrots after grating

done in super sonic speed thanks to yours truly.
high and dry?high and dry?
high and dry?

just a few hours before the event. We made it with just minutes to spare.


25th February 2010

Whats the book
Hey Whats the book that is so good? I am nearly finished time traveler so i need a new one. Thanks and yes you should stay away from the cutting duties! lol lisa
26th February 2010

Hey Chloe, your bloggs are great, i love reading them. Keep them coming. Im at work on the gold coast at the moment, just finished a 2 hour presentation to colleagues about what drug court is and how to manage offenders on a drug court order........boring! Over now. Yay, just had lunch... salad, boring.... my life is so dull compared to yours. take care over there and lots of photos please! kirst. xxx
28th February 2010

Hi Chloe. What an interesting journal entry. I wondered when you'd tire of those little kids. I couldn't stand being anywhhere near the Mindy or prep st schoo come to think of it even grade one and two gave me the creeps. Much better with older kiddies. When I get home I will look for some sites for you. Your meals look good enough to eat and your carrot grating skills are amazing. Your mum taught you well. I'm impressed with your living conditions and can see I worried for nothing. Hope this continues. Have fun young Chloe and keep writing. Love lots carolxx

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0883s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb