Salad for super


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
February 24th 2010
Published: February 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday went smoothly. I taught all morning and successfully avoided the babies until the afternoon. Thank you to everyone for your wonderful suggestions for activities and song ideas with the little ones. I have to admit I will need to google some of the lyrics to 'refresh'my out of shape brain. I also taught social studies, reading extension and today was much the same. Tonight I am taking one of Panha's night classes (5.30-7pm) so that we can all go out for a meal. It is Owen's last week and we will not have another chance to do this as a group. His night class is made up of kids ranging in ages from 4.5-9yrs. What the!!! I will just have to do my best.
The big fundraising event is getting closer and things are really starting to happen. We had a 1hr staff meeting yesterday to discuss the checklist. The guest list is now over 200 people. I will post photos asap so you can see what we have been working towards all week. I have been put in charge of the 'table plan' which in our case is actually called a mat plan as everyone will sit on mats not tables. I have also written the script for the childrens speeches during the day. I had to giggle when I was practising with them as it was just like organising an assembly back at home! Wonderful Cazz came with me to the internet cafe at lunch time today to help me set up a Skype account. It seems that I can text Australian mobiles for about 11c AUD! There was another win at the mini mart today. Cazz came across a medium sized bottle of Jim Beam for $8.25. Needless to say she will be back.
We were trying to organise a mini bus to Siam Reap for this weekend instead of buying bus tickets. It seems like this is not a viable option which is disappointing as it would have been about 2 hrs faster than the bus. Never mind for $6 we will make the 6hr bus trip on Sunday. We have sussed out accomodation for about $8 each per night. I will turn 28 at the Ankor Friendship Hotel which is a good omen I think.

In exactly one hour I will have completed my first week in Cambodia. It has been a wonderful week. In part in seems like longer than a week and in part it seems just like yesterday. The 'lowlights'section in my travel journal has hardly been touched. Here's hoping for another great week.


Advertisement



24th February 2010

Love it
Hey Babe, keep it up, loving the blogs, love hearing all the detail. Sounds like such an experience, and your taking it all in. Keep Living the life , For me, Chloe!!! xxoo

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb