Nasema kidogo Kiswahili!


Advertisement
Africa
July 15th 2010
Published: July 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The journey to MtsavianaThe journey to MtsavianaThe journey to Mtsaviana

A view from the road on the way to the medical outreach camp.
My time in Mombasa seems to be rushing by, but I'm trying to fit as much in as possible. I have been learning more Swahili each day, and the locals seem to understand what I am saying - on the whole! Nasema kidogo Kiswahili (I speak a little Swahili) and nafurahi kukufahamu (I'm pleased to meet you) feature frequently when I am meeting new people.

Last Saturday I went on another medical outreach camp, this time to a remote area south of Mombasa. We passed through Shimba Hills Nature Reserve to reach the village we were going to, and the scenery was breathtaking. There were rolling hills covered in lush greenery as far as the eye could see, and the brick-red soil of the road/track we were travelling on was a stark contrast. The journey was very long, and I felt quite fatigued when we reached our destination, Mtsaviana. We were given tea and mandazi (a semi-sweet, doughnut-like snack) before starting up the clinic. I was assigned to help in the vital signs area, and spent most of the time taking blood pressure and temperature. It was extremely hectic, and there was a never-ending stream of patients coming through the
Mtsaviana ClinicMtsaviana ClinicMtsaviana Clinic

The clinic we set up in Mtsaviana. Vital signs are being taken in the foreground of the photo.
door. When the cut-off time was reached and no other patients were admitted, I helped out finish the work in the pharmacy. Amoxyl (antibiotic), paracetamol, malaria treatment and multi-vitamins were handed out like sweets! After lunch, we were treated to a performance of song and dance by the local ladies. It was an amazing thing to see. On the journey home we saw monkeys running through the trees, and there was also an elephant standing beside the track. I couldn't believe my eyes!

The next day, another volunteer and I travelled south again to visit Diani Beach. Most of the tourists go here, and it was quite a shock for us to see so many white people! The views of the ocean were breathtaking, and the white sands stretched for miles in either direction. We rushed in for a swim, and the water was really warm. There were some huge waves, which produced a lot of hilarity. I put lots of suncream on during the day, but still managed to burn! It was a very relaxing and enjoyable trip.

On Monday and Wednesday I went out with some of the hospital staff to visit some children's homes. Bomu
Singing and dancingSinging and dancingSinging and dancing

The local ladies treated us to a performance of Christian singing and dancing, which was wonderful.
runs a feeding programme for them, and we distributed the food. At the first home, Universal, the children were all delighted to see me, and had lots of fun teaching me Swahili words. I helped peel some potatoes for lunch, but I was told that I went too "polepole" - slowly! We made sure all the children had eaten, and then went on to another place, Nuru. This was in much better condition, and had a well-organised school on site. I was given a tour by the principal, and he also explained their education system. When I returned to both homes two days later, I was given an even warmer welcome. The children were delighted that I had remembered them and had come back to visit.

I went out with Muangalizi volunteers on Tuesday, and also today. Each took me to a different area to visit the children and their caregivers. One girl had just been to the clinic at Bomu, and was dressed up in a party dress. It seems that everyone puts their best clothes on to visit the hospital. I also met a young boy called Haitham who had previously been very ill and under-developed, but
The elephantThe elephantThe elephant

The elephant we saw on our way home from Mtsaviana. It was only a few metres from the roadside.
was now much improved. He lived with his grandmother, as his mother and father had both passed away. One family we tried to visit wouldn't let us in, as they didn't want to see us unless we had brought something to give them. In another home, the uncle continually hassled me about how I was going to help them financially. I felt very uncomfortable, and he demanded that I visit on my own and give him my contact details to discuss things with me. He wouldn't take no for an answer, so in the end I made up a phone number and quickly left the house. It was a hard situation to be in, but thankfully all the other people I have visited have been very welcoming and willing to discuss their lives with me.

After work this week I have spent more time exploring Mombasa. I looked at several mosques, but wasn't allowed inside, and looked around some temples and cathedrals. There were some beautiful and interesting buildings, and people inside were very happy to explain them and their religions. I also did a walking tour of the Old Town that was featured in my guidebook. There were
SunsetSunsetSunset

The sun setting as we travelled back to Mombasa island on the Likoni ferry.
lots of streets leading off each other, and I managed to get lost a couple of times. However, I kept going in the general direction I was aiming for and got back on the right route.

My biggest bargaining achievement so far has been in booking a safari to Tsavo National Park. I managed to get the price down from $350 to $300, which my hosts said was very impressive, and a very fair price. I have also done some bartering in the spice market, but often find it hard to know what the price should be.

I set off bright and early tomorrow morning for the safari, and think it will be amazing!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Diani BeachDiani Beach
Diani Beach

Just one amazing view on Diani Beach!
UniversalUniversal
Universal

One of the children at Universal, who was very keen to pose for a photo!
NuruNuru
Nuru

Class 1 at the Nuru school. They chanted "Hello teacher, how are you?" when we entered.
Mombasa Memorial CathedralMombasa Memorial Cathedral
Mombasa Memorial Cathedral

A Catholic cathedral, which seemed to be trying too hard to fit in!
MuangaliziMuangalizi
Muangalizi

Haitham, with his grandmother and elder sister.
LunchLunch
Lunch

Lunch being served at Universal. I was given some, and found it quite tasty.
The TusksThe Tusks
The Tusks

The famous Tusks on Moi Avenue.
Swaminarayan Temple Swaminarayan Temple
Swaminarayan Temple

Outside a Hindu Temple that I was given a tour of. Bright colours decorated the place.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb