Sweet Swakopmund


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia
October 8th 2010
Published: October 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Dune girlDune girlDune girl

On top of Dune 45
Hi from the adventure hot spot of Namibia. I have already lost track of the days of the week but I have just been informed that today is Friday. I have been on tour for 1 week and 1 day but it feels like a lifetime longer than that!

I last wrote that we had crossed into Namibia and were holed up at a lush campground just inside the Namibian boader. That was our last sight of green. From there is has been red dust, dirt and lots of sand. There have been long days of driving and as we passed through Dune 45 in the Namib desert the temperature climbed to a mighty 41 degrees (good preperation for next year).

The highlight of the last few days was camping in a bush camp with nothing visible for kilometres. I loved the isolation. After waking up to lung fulls of fresh air, some of the girls did yoga as the sun rose and once again I knew what life at its best feels like.

Another big moment was meeting a Kalahari bushman who spoke in click language, had almost been killed by a lion at age 15 and
Fish River CanyonFish River CanyonFish River Canyon

Enjoying the sunset... and the warm rocks!
was the fastest sand walker I have met (he has a technique which mimics the Kurdu where he kicks his feet into the sand). I also enjoyed my first game meal of Springbox medallions (deer like desert animal) but have yet to try Zebra or Oryx.

Yesterday was spent sandboarding the dunes. It was a complete adrenalin rush but walking back up the dunes was a calf killer! In the arvo some of our group went skydiving and so I tagged along to watch and spent the afternoon enjoying the sun and smiles.

Tomorrow we make our way to a place called Spitskoffe. Not sure what's there yet so you'll have to stay tuned for details.
Hope all you teachers have a smooth transition into T4.
Much love to everyone. xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Tasty morselTasty morsel
Tasty morsel

Frans our bushman reaches into the sand and snatches up this lizard. He did a Rex Hunt, kissed him and put him back!
Slipping SunSlipping Sun
Slipping Sun

Simply stunning.
Going tandemGoing tandem
Going tandem

Mel and I double up


9th October 2010

Wow!
Hey Fisho Africa looks as stunning as I imagined it would, I'm so jealous but now even more determined to get there soon! Keep lovin life, I know what you mean about life at its best - not sure I can go back to reality :( Can't wait to swap stories over fondue! loontown xx
10th October 2010

Slipping Sun
Hello my darling. I love the way you phrase things. It is great to have your blogs coming again. You make your adventures sound so wonderful and write in such a way that I can almost experience them.... well not really, but at least I can picture you. The photos are fabulous and really help me picture you insitu! We have just finished having coffee at the farm. Kent, Swee, grandma, dad and I. It rained lightly this morning. 1ml so far. Not much, but better than another day like yesterday, where it was 34 and a very hot wind blowing, which was of course very drying to what is left of the crop. dad is keeping his spirits up and hopes to get 3 or 4 bags to the acre from the wheat and barley, but has written off the canola and lupins. I love you with all my heart. Will get Mia to help me put Kota Kinabalu photos onto Facebook so you can see some. Take care my darling. Enjoy those magic moments! Mum.

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0916s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb