Livingstone


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
October 19th 2010
Published: October 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I have missed 2 weeks on entries and basically it's just a whole lot easier if i go back and write those later. I prefer to write in the here and now.

So, we arrived in Livingstone after a massive ferry delay as the border between Kasane in Botswana and Zambia is notoriously slow. We did get to see some live smuggling action but the 3 hour wait in insane heat made that excitement a short lived novelty.

Livingstone was the half way point for me. Here, we loose 8 of the original gang and gain 5 newbies. This parting of ways is hard, hard, hard. No one really wants to leave our amazing group. I will be especially sad to farewell an Australian couple (but hopefully they will come and visit me next year).

Once we erected tents and gobbled lunch we beelined for the falls. I could say unfortunately we are here and their very lowest, as it is just before the wet season begins. For me though, they were still magnificent and another longed for moment realised.

After a relaxing group dinner we were told to go forth and enjoy the next few
Team DragomanTeam DragomanTeam Dragoman

Off we go!
free days. So I planned white water rafting and a canyon swing. Both activities were fantastic. The white water rafting was some serious stuff and pails in comparison to the rapids I saw in Thailand a few months ago.

Tonight we have dinner to farewell the old group members and welcome the new ones. I am hoping it goes well but of course have my reservations. It seems impossible that a new group could equal the old one. I feel a strange sense of loyalty to my old friends. I guess travel is all about moving on and in a few days time all will be readjusted once again.
Again, sorry I haven't been a more active blogger. Internet is impossibly slow so i just can not be bothered. Never fear- I have all the info stored safely in my brain so I will update the missing pieces when an opportunity presents. Until then, love to you all. xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Nose diveNose dive
Nose dive

Near death experience. Being washing machined under the water and coming up underneath the boat and not knowing hoe to get out. Scary, exhilarating stuff.
The bridgeThe bridge
The bridge

Famous Vic Falls bridge. We watched on as bungee jumpers leapt while we were rafting underneath.
here we go again!here we go again!
here we go again!

and we loved every second. Best day ever!!!!


22nd October 2010

postcards
Hi sister don't they sell postcards in africa??? My fridge is feeling outdated with Asia still crowding its face. Only joking, i love you and am happy to read the small amount of info you have time to dish out. Missed you last night when i had a bitch about work and i had to tell jarrad "now can you just agree with me and say you're right darling so i feel better?" boys just don't cut the mustard sometimes. 1 more week till holidays!!!! so ready for them and when i get back it won't be long till you are home to play with me and Vegemite again. He is still having itchy spots and i think we need to investigate the cause further. Ok bye for now, love you muchly xxx take care ok xxx
22nd October 2010

Awesome! Thanks for the update, love hearing about your travels. Es
22nd October 2010

Vege says hello
Hi Chloe. Mia and I have just returned from a sojurn to Voyage. Vege joined us. Almost as exciting as what you are doing. NOt!!!! He must know we are writing to you - Mia is sitting beside me in the study - as he is barking. Probably saying hello to you and asking if you remember him. His renewal for registration came today. It is due on Oct 31. Shall I renew it, or see if it can be transferred to Derby Shire? Also, your HBF is due on Nov 17. Do you want me to pay that? How boring, to be thinking of these things when you are enjoying all that Africa has to offer! All my love, Mum. Mia sends you her love too.
27th October 2010

Hey Miss Pond , miss you heaps cant wait to c u again ,glad to hear your trip went well .Anyways look after yourself and hopefully c u soon oxoxox Keesh

Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1148s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb