Arrival


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Windhoek
March 8th 2008
Published: March 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I found an internet cafe in a mall nearby. The flight from CT to Amsterdam was 6 hrs in very cramped seats, no knee room what so ever. Same with KLM flight from Amsterdam to Johannasburg, that was 10 hours! Spent a lot of time getting up and moving around, luckly it was a 747 so there was room for this. Found a 26" by 5 foot hall way in the back that people used to stretch and chat. Met people from England. An ailse seat is good on these flights, can get up when ever you want. Got to Josburg arount 10pm. I slept 3 times for 30 mins each time on the 10 hour flight. Thats it from Thurs 6am to Fri midnight Joesburg, have adjusted well to the trip, time wise. Hotel in Joesburg was surrounded by a high fense and barbed wire, ok place, went to sleep at midnight, up at 9am. Got shuttle to airport for 1.5 hr flight to Namibia. Landed around 2pm. Rented car and drove off by myself in Windhoek, on the left side of the road with a standard shift that I am not used to! Country between airport and city is awesome! Went through nasty rain storm. Much different than CT, I suppose it is like Arizona even though I have never see it. Made it to city and spent much time driving around looking for the guest house. Decent place, again, surrounded by a locked fence. I have to unlock a gate to drive in, then lock it behind me. So far everyone was been friendly. Every time I park the car, I keep getting asked if I want it to be watched by this stranger who waits for tourists to park. Ate in the city center at an inviting place, had a rubber chicken (BBQ) and a local beer, pretty good. I found a grocery store and bought craig a sim card for the local cell service, also some fruit for snaking. Guest house has no tv, good thing I brought a book. Will connect with Craig tomorrow, he is at the university, apparently it is very basic accomodations. The city is nearly empty on Sat and Sundays. good thing, the way I drive this standard! Tomorrow I will poke around the city, maybe find the local AAA office to get maps. Also, flew over Libia and Chad on 10 hour flight, looked out window and saw nothing but sand, for serveral hours! Can't think of anything else to write, so I will end this message, I will try to update it again on Sunday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb