Monday, March 10th


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Etosha National Park
March 10th 2008
Published: March 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It is Monday noon here in Outjo, just south of Etosha Park. Nice internet cafe. Saturday night after my last entry, I could not find my way back to the guest house, had to stop and ask for directections, that was tough to do! Sleep is sporadic, 3 hours, awake for 3, sleep for 4, had a nap on sunday afternoon. Spent Sunday walking around Windhoek, nice malls here. Bought supplies at a large grocery store. Met craig for dinner at "Nice", a gourmet restaurant that the school planned to eat at. I was a guest along with the 20 students, very nice dinner. spent the evening in the guest house lounge talking to a professor from London and a young couple from Ireland that have been traveling for 11 months!! They have been to south america and have driven throughout africa. They have seen a lot of poverty. I left at 7:30am this morning and I have another hour drive before I get to my destination in the park. I am looking forward to it. I have found ou that the "car guards" that approach you in EVERY parking lot are legitimate. They are somewhat organized and watch the car for you. It has cut down on crime. I give them $2 (Namibian). About 26 cents. Every time I approach a store, I am asked to give money for something, I usually give them 1 or 2 dollares (Namibian). The drive here is quite an experice. Good roads, that are very straight and flat. VERY open country that is green because of the recent rains with small mountains in the distance. I have seen a few animals on the way here, but not much. Expect to see more in the park. Lots of German people here, I am in a German cafe right now, must get a pastry before I leavel. I don't think the lodge at the park has iNet access, I will update this when I come out on thursday.

Take care, Dave.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb