Karibu!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
June 30th 2010
Published: June 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Old TownOld TownOld Town

The view from my window in Dr Hassan's brother's house.
My first impression of Mombasa - it's hot!

On Friday morning I was picked up from Moi airport by the in-country Frontier coordinator, after a long journey via Amsterdam and Nairobi. The flight from Nairobi was very short, and afforded an amazing view of Mount Kilimanjaro rising above cotton wool clouds. I commented on the heat during the journey to Mombasa's Old Town, and was informed that this was actually cold weather! There were hundreds of sights and sounds to take in on the journey including the crazy traffic, slum areas and street stalls.

My host, Dr Hassan, and his family were occupied with a family wedding, so I spent the first few days of my trip staying at his brother's house. It was situated in the Old Town, which is full of narrow streets, souvenir shops and tuk-tuks (three-wheeled taxi vehicles). The house was very basic, but I was made to feel very welcome.

Very early on I experienced "Africa time", when I was told that I someone would return in ten minutes, and that turned out to be an hour! Mombasa is a very relaxed place, and also very friendly. Everyone I have met greeted me
The Outreach ClinicThe Outreach ClinicThe Outreach Clinic

Some patients collecting their prescriptions.
enthusiastically, saying "karibu"- welcome. It seems to be predominantly Muslim, and I found it strange to see women with only their eyes showing.


I had been a bit apprehensive about the food I would be eating here. However, I really like it! Rice and ugali (a white cake made from maize) seem to be staple, and I have had many stew-like meals.

On my second day I went on a medical outreach camp, run by the Mombasa Pentecostal Church. We met in their church building, where everyone met to sing and pray before leaving. The singing was beautiful - it was unaccompanied and they produced lovely harmonies. The journey to the outreach clinic brought new meaning to the word "bumpy"! The village we went to was very remote, and it was fascinating to visit their community. The clinic was set up with curtained treatment booths, and a pharmacy. I helped out in the pharmacy, and it was very fast-paced but rewarding work. I really enjoyed the day.

The next day my host's brother took me to visit Fort Jesus, which passed through Portuguese, Arab and British hands over the years. It was a very interesting place. We then spent some time sitting by the ocean, which was very tranquil and there was also a welcome breeze! After this we travelled by tuk-tuk and matatu (crowded minibuses that go all over the area) to a hotel on the city's outskirts, where I enjoyed a swim in the pool. There was an incredible ocean vista from it.

On Monday I was picked up by Dr Hassan and taken to visit the hospital where I will be working - Bomu Medical Clinic. It was a very pleasant place, and the foundation stone had been placed by Alicia Keys. After this we went back to his house, where I met his wife, 11-month old son and house help. Dr Hassan, his wife and I then went out to give out overalls, aprons, gloves, gumboots and masks to the local rubbish collectors. Seeing the conditions they worked in really made me realise what I take for granted at home.

In the evening, I went to the supermarket with the family, where I got a lot of stares, probably due to my very fair skin! Despite what I had read and been told before I came, I have felt very
Fort JesusFort JesusFort Jesus

A traditional door, inside Fort Jesus.
safe here. However, I have been told to expect lots of marriage proposals!

I started work at the hospital on Tuesday morning. I walked for about 15 minutes in the morning to get to the stop for the staff bus, which took me to Bomu. Dr Hassan arrived slightly later, and showed me around the place. It is a major HIV/AIDS clinic, and it was very busy when I visited it. I was taken to the Data Office, where I worked for the rest of the day on transferring information on TB patients from paper notes to a computer database. I got a bit tedious after a while! It was interesting to speak to the staff there, and one thing that they couldn't understand about UK culture was that many people did not have a religion. Pretty much everyone in Kenya is either Christian or Muslim, and religion plays a big part in their lives. It was also hard to explain the difference between Scotland and England, and the UK.

I woke up this morning with my legs covered in itchy mosquito bites. I hadn't been bothered by them before this! I was in the Data Office again
Fort JesusFort JesusFort Jesus

The view of Fort Jesus from beside the ocean.
today, and finished all the work I had been assigned before lunchtime. At the hospital there is a dining hall where all the staff congregate for tea and bread in the morning, and also lunch. The lunch portions are huge, and I am faced with surprise when I ask for only a small amount! I left work early, and caught a matatu back to town. There was some quite scary driving! I had a quick look in the souvenir shops on my way home, where the shopkeepers attempted to rip me off. In the evening I watched a slideshow of my hosts' wedding, which was lovely.

I am having an amazing time here in Mombasa. I have been surprised by many things, and have had a lot to adapt to. However, the people are extremely welcoming and I have had some great experiences already.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Swimming PoolSwimming Pool
Swimming Pool

The swimming pool at the Reef Hotel, which looks out over the ocean.
Bomu ClinicBomu Clinic
Bomu Clinic

The entrance to Bomu.
Rubbish CollectingRubbish Collecting
Rubbish Collecting

A rubbish collector, before giving him protective equipment.
The Data OfficeThe Data Office
The Data Office

The Data Office, where I spent two days working.


1st July 2010

Awesome read!
Hi Heather, I just read your update and I have to say it sounds amazing over there! I'm glad you're having a great time, take loads and loads of pictures remember! Haha, do tell when you get your first marriage proposal! :p Enjoy the rest of it! Jack
6th July 2010

Hi Heather
Hi Heather Hope you are enjoying your trip and not working too hard! Your blog is really interesting, what a fantastic experience you are having. All very quiet here!! Take Care The Skeltons

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb