Chaiten and to the ferry


Advertisement
South America
January 24th 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The weather started out beautyfull. I still had to rush to the ferry because I did not arrive in Chaiten as planned. I was curious after the Chilean ´Pompei´. It sure had it´s blow from the Vulcano. The gouvernment wants people to leave but a lot of people want to stay. What is wise and where is the heart. If I could choose between La Junta and Chaiten I knew where I would stay. The 27 km went smoothly and I still had enough time to take some pictures in Chaiten. On the boat I met Elly - Canadian Dutch - maried with Ramiro from Chili. After a life of work they traveled all trough Chili. On the boat also Sue and Mike from Florida whom I met earlier on the Yelcho sendero. The German couple Use and max had already some bicycle experience in the Lagos - part of Chili. They gave me some routes for next week. It was a pleasant trip on the sunny boat. Vulcano, Snowcovered mountains, Dolphins, Sea Lions and Penguins. A quiet nap and a bit of sunburn. In the evening in Hornopiren I had dinner with Mike and Sue which was very nice apart from the food which was served. Maybe the Hotel was only for sleeping. I slept in the garden of a family with my tent under a roof. Two boys on a bike had showed me the way. It was close to the center so very practical.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb