Cats and Dogs


Advertisement
South America
January 24th 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

One of the phrases you were taught very early on highschool that it could be raining cats and dogs in England. Not only in England. Just out of my bed checking the weather, even before 8 o´clock already an Italian was on his way to the La Junt. Leaving the caring Hospedaje in Villa Santa Lucia and having said goodbye to Rafo and Jan who were also Southbound. Immediately, il cime de Santa Lucia started. The first Spaniard I saw on the bike came down the hill. It did have nothing to do with Tre Cime di Lavaredo so I could reach the summit of about 625 meters cycling. On the top a Swiss lady of a travel agency was awaiting the 8 cyclists out of Switzerland. They did not climb any faster than I did and this gives my lowlandcycling heart always confidence. Going down I saw Petra and Detleff doing the last part of the climb. Their bags were like they came just out of the shop. They wanted to reach Punta Arenas. After the climb I tried a sendero to the Yelcho glacier. Wrong choice. It was long, muddy, wet and dangerous and the glacier was, you guess.......in the clouds. Incredible how people are sent on such a trail without precautions. Sometimes with your knees in the water On the way to the glacier it started to rain and that did only stop in the evening. Sometimes the only things visible were the trees at the side of the road I had to et to the ferry in Chaiten which I reserved and paid. Next one only in three days. Passing the bivio of the Termas of Amarillo somebody started shouting and again the two Israelians were at the side of the road in a busstop. I was wet and in need of a shower. So I looked for a place to sleep. It was simple and relatively expensive in Residencia Marcella. But I could dry my clothes which was worthwhile in the situation.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb