First impression of Santiago


Advertisement
South America
August 16th 2008
Published: August 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me in TelefericaMe in TelefericaMe in Teleferica

Hundreds of feet in. the air above Santiago
Hello Loved Ones!
After 11 days in the hospital, my spirit is even stronger than before. I was really trying to get the attention of a cute chilean doctor, but i guess having a swollen face is not the best way to do it...But really, I received the best care and attention, (can't say the same for the food though) while I was there. There were 3 different teams of doctors working on my case. I had monogoco bacterial meningitis. It was serious, but the doctors say i am a very lucky girl. I also have the best support group here. All 15 of the students in the study abroad program visited me at least once. My host mom came almost every day, my teacher came 4 times, and Sofia, the program director came, and brought me home. I also mad friends while i was in the hospital! I got flowers, but they went to the alter of the virgin on a different floor. I got magazines, cards, bracelets, fruit, all though i couldn't eat it because at the time i was diabetic (because of the medicine). It has been one week since i've been out of the hospital, and today
layer of smoglayer of smoglayer of smog

There is a constant layer of smog, except after the rain. We love it when it rains
was my maiden voyage out of the apartment. The sun is shining and it's at least 60 degrees! I am now working on gaining weight, which is hard because my host mom feeds me only healthy food. My friends bring me chocolate and cookies though! I also need to rebuild strength in my legs because i did not leave the bed for 6 days. I still get tired easy. I missed the first 2 weeks of school, so now I will have to catch up. Hopefully some other students will help me out.
So now that i have a new outlook on life, and love life even more, I am ready to get back to exploring Santiago. There is still much to see. I have plans to go to the futbol (soccer) match between a pro Chile team and Bolivia, Colombia, y Argentina with a group f Chileans. Im going to Mendosa, Argentina in the middle of September with my host mom, and I will keep you posted on other plans as they come about.
Thank you for all of your supportive thoughts and messages while i was very ill, I can feel the love from the other side of
TelefericaTelefericaTeleferica

Our door wouldn't close. i made my friend Rashan sit next to the door
the equator!


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MollyMolly
Molly

One of my new friends, from CA
The mountains are so beautifulThe mountains are so beautiful
The mountains are so beautiful

When we can see them
the thing about smog is...the thing about smog is...
the thing about smog is...

There are days when we can't see the mountains. Ya know they're there, you can still feel them. It can still be sunny though, but you still can't see the mountains.
On top of Cerro San CristobolOn top of Cerro San Cristobol
On top of Cerro San Cristobol

We are at the destination of the teleferica. Vanessa, Rashan, Emily, Molly, Amelia, and our chilena guide
our hotelour hotel
our hotel

we could see our hotel. Its the red building
statue of la Virgenstatue of la Virgen
statue of la Virgen

This huge statue is at the top of the hill. There is also a church!
The cityThe city
The city

The buildings go on and on as far as the eye can see
little carslittle cars
little cars

every car is sooo little! I love it
dirty ass riverdirty ass river
dirty ass river

Somewhere in the center of Santiago
wine tastingwine tasting
wine tasting

our first field trip was to a winery! I didn't like any of the wine, but we had a blast


17th August 2008

Beautiful
Hi Carin! I am so glad you are doing better, lots better! The pictures are beautiful, as you are. You take care of yourself and do not over do it. I was afraid I was going to have to put your mom in a package and send her to you! Hugs and kisses to you my dearest. Love, Darcy
19th August 2008

ud. es increible!
Thank you for the update and sending the pictures. What an unbelievable experience you have had so far. And, what an awesome attitude you have after all that you have been through. I can't wait to talk to you in person. In the meantime, please keep sharing your experiences, I really enjoy them.
22nd August 2008

Luuuuv you!
Ay yai yai! What an adventura! Holy spicy mole! :) I am so happy to hear that you are doing ok and that you love life! :) yay, the strong keep a tickin! I love you muchisimo and am so grateful to hear bout your travels! How amazing to have so many brave friends sharin the luv all over the planet! Talk to you ll`````````(that was from my kitty), talk to you sooon!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb