Mis amigos nuevos


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
October 11th 2008
Published: October 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sharon, Sydney, MESharon, Sydney, MESharon, Sydney, ME

santiago behind us, on cerro cristobal after en asado
Greetings friends and fam,
i know it has been so long since one of these, but as usual, i have been enjoying life, and not sitting in front of a computer to much. At the moment, I'm at my adopted chilean family's house, which is my friend syd's house. I spend a lot of time here! they invite me to have lunch with them, which is the most important meal of the day, and matti the mom makes special means just for me! I tried to make them a chocolate zuchinni cake once, but the zuchinni here is a different breed! SO it turned out as suchinni soup cake, all though the family and my friends still like it, i was very disapointed! I help around the house when i can. The dad Jaime has a leather business, and he makes beautiful sandals, purses, and other little trinkets. He just started a store on line, and the front of their house is a store.
I moved to Barrio Brasil! I am very happy in my new house! Its a really old house, and the barrio is a really old part of town. Now i am only about 20 minutes away from
Leon the tandem partnerLeon the tandem partnerLeon the tandem partner

This is Leon, my tandem partner. I signed up to have a chilean student to practice my castellano, and i got this guy! he is a mining engineer major in his third year. we usually have luncn on campus twice a week. he likes to join the gringos, and i spend most of the time explaining english jokes to him. i had a hard time explaining to him why i can't call him "big daddy". he also calls himself "godfather" he says, "anything you need, i will save you" he is really harmless, and it makes me and my friends laugh!
campus, and there are ferrias (open-air fruit and veggie markets) every day of the week! I live with 3 chileans, and 3 extranjeras, one from Paris, one from Sebastopol CA, and one from Flint Michigan! the language of the house is castellano, and the chileans are always very helpful, and have tons of patience with me. The other girls have been here in Chile for over a semester, and have a better grasp of the language. Two weekends ago i went to an art gallery for the celebration of the ending of my roomate christian's visual art exibition.
Last weekend I finally got out of Santiago! With all my roomates except Mauricio because he had to work, with 3 chicos de france, and a girl from Colombia! We went to a very small town on the beach called Quintay. It use to be where they killed whales...about 20 years ago, now there aren't any whales, but a a museum where that has some fotos and a skeleton of a whale head. It was very relaxing, and for some reason I can't find the photos from then, so i will have to add them another time!
Well, i have to be
Amelia and SydneyAmelia and SydneyAmelia and Sydney

Amelia, pysch major from San Francisco State, and Sydney, business major from Santa Cruz
going, we are starting to rally to go to a birthday party to celebrate sydney, her chilean cousin and his friend...
I miss all of you, and think about my friends and family often! any news from the states, or africa, i would like to know if you have the time to send me an e-mail!
I will post my new address when i am sure of what it is!
Hasta Pronto, besitos, un gran abrazo!
carin


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Amelia givin me some loveAmelia givin me some love
Amelia givin me some love

Amelia was my number one fan in the hospital! she came to visit me almost everyday!
Vanessa y AmeliaVanessa y Amelia
Vanessa y Amelia

In Sydneys bedrrom, where we come to preparty and have syd do our makeup!
Chileans, FinlanderiansChileans, Finlanderians
Chileans, Finlanderians

This is at an asado, which is like a bbq, on cerro cristbal. we all chipped in to buy meat and booze. Usually there isn't much else at an asado!
new chilean friendsnew chilean friends
new chilean friends

and some others...
asadoasado
asado

group shot, good mix. Buena onda
chileans next to uschileans next to us
chileans next to us

this crew was set up right next to us at the asado. They really wanted their picture taken, so i didn't refuse
asadoasado
asado

by this time all the meat had been eaten! My favorite is choripan, which is like a tasty spicey sausage and bread
una broma! (joke)una broma! (joke)
una broma! (joke)

this is a funy shot... a bunc of chileans, and my friends were chanting "besa! besa!" (kiss! kiss!) i knew what there were saying, but i started to this awkard elbow dance and they all started laughing!
so there was one cucmberso there was one cucmber
so there was one cucmber

Sydney with two new chilena friends
ChilenosChilenos
Chilenos

enjoying the beautiful day and the asado
me and chilenosme and chilenos
me and chilenos

I didn't know these guys, but they really wanted a photo!
Barrio Bella VistaBarrio Bella Vista
Barrio Bella Vista

this is a very common scene in the streets...
poker nightpoker night
poker night

Gringos and leon, and amir, from germany
leon and meleon and me
leon and me

he is always joking...siempre
"have carin take the picture!""have carin take the picture!"
"have carin take the picture!"

I wish i was smilng as sweet as my friends are, but its still a good pic!


12th October 2008

sweet girl
Hi Carin, I love the pics! I love when I get an email and get to go to the blog for new stuff. It's so cool to see stuff and people from another country. Your mama is trying to talk me into coming to Chili...who knows! Take care of yourself. I thinkin of you! Darcy

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb