Competencia


Advertisement
South America
November 21st 2006
Published: December 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nike 10kmNike 10kmNike 10km

8.00am meet up before the race. Outside the American embassy. Me, Diego, Marcillia, Mauricio.

Nike 10km


It was all pretty organised by Argentinian standards. Clean toilets, organised cloakrooms and we got off on-time. Public support was pretty good too and the transvetites from the Creamfields music festival gave us added encouragement. It was rumered a bottle of water at the 2 dayer was $30 pesos so, maybe the free water given out at the race helped pull them in. Whatever!

It was really pretty hot even at 9am in the morning so, next time I'll know to run in a hat, like everyone else. Years of living in England means I cannot comprehend heat so early, neither can I totally trust in a sunny day. There will always be a little voice in my head that says "What if the wind picks up, rain could be round the corner, in fact aren't we in December. Best to take a jumper!"

So, I've moved again and I'm sharing a place with a Californian chic called Amanda. And on my first day in the new area, I found a As I was walking along a street in my new area, I found a tiny, raggedy looking kitten shakily stumbling along the pavement. I knocked on
Nike 10kmNike 10kmNike 10km

47 mins & 13 seconds later.
all the nearby doors and asked if anyone knew who it belonged to, nothing. I waited around to see if the mother, or any family would come looking for it, nothing. And, I tried to make it a little bed in a shoe box, after taking it home and washing it but it just wouldn't stay put.

After much contemplation, I realised I couldn't leave him on the street. He was so small and grey that people just didn't see him as they walked along the pavement and several people nearly stepped on him. Plus, there are just too many stray dogs, not to mention cars and sickos who could easily hurt him, so I had to take it home. Unfortunately, my new flatmate is allergic to cats so, Andres offered to take him for the night and we would go to the vet the next day. Phew!

Great Spanish expressions:
1. Estamos en el horno
Literal translation = we're in the oven. Meaning = we're in deep trouble.
2. Tomaste el buque
Literal translation = You took the boat. Meaning = Get outta here. Leg it.
3. Tacano
You say this touching your elbow or hitting your elbow downward on a table!
Meaning = tight arse. Mean.
4. Mandar fruta
Literal translation = sending fruit. Meaning = bullshit.
5. This is an action: You stick out your chin, pull the corners of your mouth down and brush under your chin in an outward movement. Meaning = I have no idea. I don't care.
6. Disfrutar de la jode = enjoy the excess/debauchery
7. Revolear la chancleta = throw away the ball and chain.
8. Atorante/mujeriego = womaniser.
9. Romper las pelotas/huevos.

Just love this language.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Nike 10kmNike 10km
Nike 10km

The lovely Brazilian couple and 20,000 other participants
Nike 10kmNike 10km
Nike 10km

A delicious breakfast in Las Canitas afterwards
Buenos AiresBuenos Aires
Buenos Aires

Me and my new flatmate.
Buenos AiresBuenos Aires
Buenos Aires

Barely a month old. Abandoned, malnourished and full of fleas. I just had to help.
My lovely studentsMy lovely students
My lovely students

Miguel and me (HSBC)
My lovely studentsMy lovely students
My lovely students

Andrea and me (Chubb)
My lovely studentsMy lovely students
My lovely students

Maria, Carolina, me, Agostina (Chubb)
My lovely studentsMy lovely students
My lovely students

James, Sebastian, me, Natalie (Chubb)
My lovely studentsMy lovely students
My lovely students

Daniel and Javier Re (La Ley)
ThanksgivingThanksgiving
Thanksgiving

An American experience - Jocelyn, Fabio, Mario, Luis, Ronnie, Abby, Amanda, Natalie.
ThanksgivingThanksgiving
Thanksgiving

Thinking about what I'm thankful for.
ThanksgivingThanksgiving
Thanksgiving

Natalie and I.
ThanksgivingThanksgiving
Thanksgiving

Gustavo and Abby.
Banco Galicia 10kmBanco Galicia 10km
Banco Galicia 10km

My team mate, Thomas.
Banco Galicia 10kmBanco Galicia 10km
Banco Galicia 10km

46mins, despite a cold.
Banco Galicia 10kmBanco Galicia 10km
Banco Galicia 10km

My lovely supports.
Banco Galicia 10kmBanco Galicia 10km
Banco Galicia 10km

The finish or the place where you pass over your chip to your team mate.


2nd February 2007

you ran another 10k, I think you rock, poderosa!!!

Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb