Colonia del Sacramento y El Galope


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay
July 7th 2016
Published: July 11th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Estate Estate Estate

I'm sure this could be bought cheaply! Apparently people used to come to the countryside to rest, but now they only go to the beaches.
After Montevideo, I figured it was better to sit in the rain in the country rather than in the city, so I headed back toward Colonia del Sacramento and the port that connects to Argentina. An hour before Colonia, I got off the bus in Valdense and El Galope horse farm (which is on Hostelworld) had a taxi waiting for me.

The area is pretty ordinary in terms of scenery. It reminded me of Ohio, really, except with palms, parakeets, and functional towns (with a variety of locally owned stores). The farm gets its milk, cheese, honey, etc. from its neighbors.

It was too wet to consider riding the horses, but the second day the sun came out and I went for a nice, long run through the farms and the nearby town. It was a great place to relax by the fire with their excellent wine and then detox in their sauna.

The next morning I headed back to Colonia and spent a night there, which is unnecessary... it's quite a pretty town, but there were lots of bored families on holiday walking around looking at buildings and lighthouses - this could be done sufficiently in a few hours.

There are more photos below.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Street in ColoniaStreet in Colonia
Street in Colonia

I love these trees.


Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1012s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb