Uruguayan excursion


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay
December 26th 2005
Published: December 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Colonia del SacramentoColonia del SacramentoColonia del Sacramento

Rio de la Plata with a contrasting white-washed color wall. And me with my bright cardinal color, of course.
Well, escaping busy Argentina to a slower pace Uruguay sounds like a plan. Arriving with a ferry from Buenos Aires in Colonia del Sacramento on Christmas Eve, we manage to see the UNESCO World Heritage old Colonia, which is quaint and quiet. Rio de la Plata is brown and murky, but our spirit is high. After spending a couple of hours in the town, we catch a bus to capital Montevideo, to spend a night there.

We decide that Christmas day is a perfect opportunity to check out the famous resort Punta del Este, east of Montevideo. The beach is packed with vacationers, mostly from Argentina from what I've told. Not sure about enjoying the beach so much except the unusual El Mano sculpture, but I enjoy visiting Casa Pueblo, a surreal structure outside the city limit.

Now we're heading back to Buenos Aires, to catch our flight to Iguassu Falls in the heart of South America. Till then.

-Cy


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

HumphHumph
Humph

I get stuck on top of a lighthouse in Colonia del Sacramento.
Uruguayan flagUruguayan flag
Uruguayan flag

I am obsessed with the Uruguayan flag. It is definitely one of the most distinguished flag in the world. Here I am with the flag, outside Montevideo's bus station.
Casa PuebloCasa Pueblo
Casa Pueblo

Here's my favorite Casa Pueblo, which reminds me of Gaudi's famous architectural style.
High fiveHigh five
High five

El Mano, a morbid sculpture of a drown person in Punta del Este's main beach. Hum.
El ManoEl Mano
El Mano

Am I sitting on a tumbnail? This is the biggest hand I've ever seen.
Yo-ho, yo-hoYo-ho, yo-ho
Yo-ho, yo-ho

Well at least I can be a pirate's parrot. Here I am mimicing that role with Halef, in via Sarandi, Montevideo.
Teatro SolisTeatro Solis
Teatro Solis

I am posing in front of Montevideo's Teatro Solis, before heading back to Buenos Aires.


Tot: 0.508s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.3003s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb