DAY 21-23: Punta del Este; 1949 Hostel


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » East » Punta del Este
March 22nd 2011
Published: April 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

From Florianopolis we took a long overnight bus journey to finally leave the most expensive country on the planet (honestly, more expensive than home!) and head to Uruguay.

It was on arrival to Uruguay that Jen&Moz became JustJen so from now on I can bore you all with my solo antics!

So the "party beach town" of Punta del Este actually greeted me with a grey and rainy ghost town. My hostel was prebooked and there was no sign of a taxi so I set to finding my hostel. After 10 minutes I had reached it; Punta del Este is a tiny town with only a few main streets. I got chatting to some Aussies (I don´t actually think there any Australians left in Australia...they´re all here in South America) and they were telling me its actually low season which is why noone is around and most places are closed for the next season. I spent the first day doing laundry, organising the rest of my trip and familiarising myself with the area- all in the rain. I decided to console myself with some spaghetti bolognaise (of course) and a bottle of red (in my defence I only ordered a glass but she arrived with a bottle, maybe she could see I was soaked and in need!).

The next day, the sun seemed to be out and I wanted to make the most of it, so after breakfast I headed for a wander around the harbour and settled on the beach for a spot of sunbathing (a girl can never tan enough). There wasn´t much else to do so I don´t feel too guilty. I found a supermarket and whipped up some pasta to try and economise. Turns out there is another country as expensive as Brazil...Uruguay!!

I enjoyed wandering around for hours and having coffee...I tell you, it´s a very hard life this travelling malarkey! I´d organised my bus for the next day, so decided to shower, sort out my washing, call home for a catch up and have an early night (just like another Wednesday at home really!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Beach time!Beach time!
Beach time!

2 minute wander from the hostel


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb