One last entry...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
October 19th 2006
Published: October 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

While I wait for my international flight at Lima airport I thought i would share a few thoughts on my trip.

The People
The Peruvians I have really liked, they have been nice, welcoming people and it felt like coming home after being in Bolivia and Chile. The most practice I got with my Spanish was with the taxi drivers who seem to love to chat away including this morning at 5.30am on the way to Arequipa airport the guy was giving me a real test of my Spanish at that time the morning. Its all great fun and I have learned quite a few words and phrases and it will be a shame not to keep it up and learn more Spanish.
The Ecuadorians seem very nice and friendly, Bolivians well I cant really comment since i was only there for 5 days and my camera was stolen but i would say not so friendly and the Chileans seem nice but again not so friendly possibly due to the fact that they are not so dependant on tourists.

The Food
To be honest I wasnt overly impressed with the food out here, a standard meal consists of potatos, rice, salad and meat with no sauce. I have eaten so much potato soup with quinoa, beans and carrots, there are a ton of varieties of potatos out here but there is only one variety of cheese, its a bit rubbery but tatses fine and the amount of eggs I have eaten is ridiculous.
I have tried guinea pig, tasted a bit like breaded pork, liked llama, alpaca and vicuna and the ceviche and other fishy stuff is not bad. Also had so much avocado out here, even though it tastes really good they give massive servings of it and there is only so much avocado you can take in one sitting. I like the "avocado to the queen", avocado stuffed with chicken, veggies, potatoes and mayonnaise. They also have fermented corn drinks..no thanks and pisco sours which I have a bit of an allergic reaction to making me bright red with a sweaty nose within seconds.
Terrell and I spoiled ourselves last night to celebrate my last night and went to a fab Turkish restaurant which was really yummy food, the previous night we got pissed in an Irish pub, played pool and had happy hour 2 for 1 Cuba Libres... now thats more like it!

The Music
Hmm not sure how to put this nicely but pan pipes can be bloody annoying when it is rammed down your throat during every meal followed by asking for tips not to mention when they follow you up a hill, you cant get away from them. I was quite partial to the pan pipes in Kingston high street as background music to shopping but while you are trying to eat dinner and have a conversation it can be quite annoying. Having said that there was one band that was particularly good that I happily listened and tipped them. A friend bought the cd so I will try and get a copy off him to share the experience with you all. The dancing in Puno was a bit repetitive as well although at least it wasnt difficult unfortunately the video I have of the dancing has been lost with my camera.

The Tours
Although you can organise the trips such as the Lares Trek and Galapagos yourselves at a much lower price I cant complain about the ones I went on. GAP adventures seem a bit disorganised but it didnt ruin the experience and I met some great people on the tours. I think it was nice to have a week here and there organised and to do my own thing in between so it worked out fine for me.

Ok so that's all folks, any questions visit Google 😊 or drop me an email - I have tons of photos I can bore you with despite losing my camera.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1092s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb