Sirvana Kuy


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
January 19th 2009
Published: January 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Didn't wake up until 9:30...by 10:45am i was having my continetal breakfast of bread and marmalde that tasted like tamarindo. Sitting by myself and think to myself, i thought again, what am i doing? Hmm. Quickly tried to erase those thoughts and made myself get out of my mood and go take a much needed shower bc it's sweltering hot down here. I grabbed my stuff and took onto the road. Not knowing where i was going, i decided to stop at the first bank to exchange money. the exchange rate was horrible...from now on i´ll shop around for better rates.

Didn't know peruvians loved their gasy water...water with gas is everywhere, ecck. Where´s the normal water?

My day turned out fantastic. For lunch I meanedered through the streets in search for a place where the locals ate...and why of course for better eating rates. I walked a pretty far distance to get to the place that had two choices on the menu and one was MILANESA, yum, milanesa de pollo. Along with it they brought out a sald, not your typical salad, it was drowned in a mustery yellow sauce, I tried it and nearly puked, the family next to me saw me and laughed and asked me if I had liked it...with a quick response i shook my head NO and they laughed again. The milanesa was good though. Diagnally from me was this lil old man, sitting by myself. Before I got up to go pay my bill, he waved me to come sit with him. He told me i lookeed rather lonely and that i should keep him company while he ate. Turns out this 84 yr old was full of stories and good advice for this 29 yr old girl. His name: FRANSICO, Panchito better yet. After talking for about an hour he decided to walk me back to my hostel....story after story I took to his liking. Funny lil old man this panchito....he reminded me of my grandfather : )
Funny how some people come into your life for a brief second but leave long lasting impressions.

Once i get home, i´ll tell you more about that special lil old man.

Ah, the hostel situation. Ricardo, the owner, this cute young dude, looked pretty pissed off when he saw me, but quickly realized that there had been a huge misunderstanding and that he wasn´t going to charge me....Thank goodness...whew...!

I met several cool girls at the hostel...even went to the movies with them...saw the movie Australia....for 17 soles, on tuesdays it´s 9 soles and i think i´ll go again.

I´m now enjoying my stay and have calmed my nerves.

Earlier in the day, it was not so good...i was still nervous, spoke to my parents and i cried and hoped that they didnt hear it in my voice : (


hmm...well. I{m tired. it´s now 11:44 pm...I{m off to shower and go to sleep.

Goodnight.

thanks for the coments guys. I miss you all.

Pura Vida.


Advertisement



19th January 2009

Glad to hear that the hostel situation was taken care of. You always seem to find the interesting people. Definitely want to hear more stories about panchito. Best of luck and enjoy. And don’t worry yourself too much. You have always come out stronger and confident from your past experiences. This will be no different. Take care. Thinking of you, tu amigo.
19th January 2009

ey girlie! siempre toma un poco de tiempo acostumbrarse to new settings, pero poco a poco saldra ese espiritu aventurero que llevas dentro y te vendra la calma y la emocion de una vez mas haber tenido el valor de salirte de tus surroundings a explorar este planeta en el cual vivimos..love ya girlie!!! may your guardian angel keep you smart, safe and happy

Tot: 0.32s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.2085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb